I’m back!!

So, the last time I posted was sometime in April.  Yup, that was a looooong time ago!  Not that I have so much more time and less going on in my life ( most definitely the opposite).  But you know me.  I love to live on the edge.  Live like  a rebel.  Overextend myself.  You know.  The usual.  I guess I missed writing.  I missed by bad punctuation and grammar.  I am pretty sure you miss it as well.  🙂

I won’t make this a novel with recaps from April.  Trust me there are a lot!  In a nutshell.  Riverbank was a great race for me.  I did not PR, but I ran my second best time.  I’ll take it.  I also did Tri Del Sol this year.  Run, bike run ( cuz swimming is for losers.)  Just kidding.  I dislike swimming with a PASSION.  It was a tough one.  It always is.  I got 3rd in my age group.  Hey, there were 3 of us in my age group.  I’ll take it!  Next year I might even get on my road bike more than twice- you know to train and stuff.  What a concept.  😉

I am now training for the Grand Rapids Marathon.  Yup.  I think I remember when I said I would never do another 26.2.  I am also a huge advocate of the saying by the great Justin Bieber himself, “Never say never”.

My running has almost been too good to be true this year.  I still have less than stellar runs from time to time, but I keep reminding myself to this time of the year 2 years ago when every run was less than stellar.  My vocal cord dysfunction has seemed to have disappeared ( POOF!! Like magic).  I have no idea why,but I won’t dare question it.  Nope.  It’s gone.  I can breathe. I can run. I can be me.  I’m back!!!  I did my first 20 miler of this training cycle on Saturday.  This is when I question my sanity.  It was awful.  But I loved it.    Every mile.  Well, except that last mile.  Who gets a side cramp on mile 20??  This chick.  Whatever.  I ran 20 miles!

Work is great.  I am still teaching classes at the YMCA and I am still selling shoes and spreading good cheer at Gazelle Sports.  I am currently studying ( schools for fools) for a few certifications so I can add more work to my list.  Nothing wrong with that.  I like to work, study read.  🙂

Enough about me.  Kids!  Kids are doing well.  Miles is in the 1st grade with the attention span of a fruit fly.  Poor kid.  He really is from another planet.  I love that about him. Take this morning for example, I dropped him off at school.  He gets out of the car and his booster seat is attached to his back-pack.  He never even noticed.  He only had a seat strapped to his back.  I had to call him back and he just shrugged and took it off.  Whatever dude.  Love that kid.  He’s almost 6.  That’s just dumb.  😦

WP_20130710_005

Amara is in the 4th grade now.  My first-born is still a hippie.  Big hair and hemp necklaces that never leave her neck.  Her biggest worry this year is that she has homework EVERY DAY.   Poor thing ( I’m talking about myself –I have to check it and make sure she does it every night- that’s a HUGE responsibility).   She’s still running.  She ran two 5k’s this year and also got a PR.  Both kids are in soccer again this fall.  First match is on Saturday.  She’s 9.  That’s even dumber than Miles being almost 6.  😦

WP_20130723_008

There ya have it.  4+ months wrapped up in a few paragraphs!  I hope to post a few times a week again.  Don’t hold me to it though.

So I decided to add a song of the Day – why not?  If you know me, you know I LOVE music.  Like, LOVE It.  It’s one of the reasons I teach Spin class.  I get to pick the songs.  You can learn a lot about someone from their music choices.  I guess you might just think I am a confused individual since my music taste is all over the board.  Don’t judge.  😉  Whenever I want to learn the words to a song, I play it about 2-3 times for Amara.  That’s not really cheating since she likes most of the stuff I like.  Or is the other way around?  Anyway–enjoy!

Song of the day: ZZ Ward- Put The Gun Down

Leave a comment