Gazelle Girl Half Marathon Recap

Gazelle Girl Half Marathon was a huge success!

Ready to race!

Ready to race!

Amara and I were very excited to take part in this inaugural race celebrating the 40th anniversary of Title IX.  The morning started off cold and dreary.  Big shocker huh?!?!  Not really.  I was very grateful that is was not raining   Sure, I had pellets of hail all up in my face during the race, but it was NOT rain.  🙂

We made it to the gym about an hour before the race started.  The half started at 8 am and Amara’s 5k was at 8:15 am.  We both barely slept the night before.  I feel like I was up all night long.  I was definitely up  by 4 am and I know Amara was too. She probably made 3-4 bathroom trips within 2 hours. Her goal attainable goal was to run a 34 minute 5k- this would be a new PR for her.  Her “secret” goal ( which she told me) was to run a 32 minute 5k.  I told her to go for it if she was feelin’ it, and if she wasn’t – no big deal.  I just wanted her to have fun and go with the flow for the day.  She has switched her pre race meal from cereal to peanut butter toast and half an apple.  I might have suggested this.  The only thing is, it takes her 30 minutes to eat on race day.  Ain’t nobody got time for that!       😉

We rounded up Mary and the rest of the crew and took off for Rosa Parks Circle.  You could just feel the energy everywhere!!  I didn’t expect anything less though.  Matt and Miles braved the estrogen filled day to take pictures of us gals and also cheer us on at the finish line.

My little cutie is not so little anymore.  Excuse while I go cry....  ;-)

My little cutie is not so little anymore. Excuse while I go cry…. 😉

I said my good byes to Amara and my other friends running the 5k.  Mary and I decided to line up with the 8:30 pace group ( I can be kind of bossy).

GG3pics

And we’re off!!

Miles 1-3 ( 8:27, 8:19, 8:29)  We found a nice comfortable pace for the first few miles.  We had our music in our ears which we never do when we train together.  We are too busy yakking it up to bother with music.  Today, we were all business.

Miles 4-6 (8:17, 8:19, 8:11)  I think the hail storm started during these miles.  I kind of blocked it out of my memory.  I remember looking at Mary and saying something like, ” this figures” or “what the hell?” or ” at least it’s not pouring rain”  I forget which one I said.  I might have said all 3.  I really started feeling  as if I could start going a little faster here, but I am ALWAYS second guessing myself and my superpowers abilities etc.  Because of the whole breathing issues I tend to do that.  Dumb.

Miles 7-9 (8:01, 8:04, 7:40)  This is when it got really exciting!!  We turned around here to head back to the finish.  It was so much fun seeing the other women.  I am pretty sure I had a smile on my face for the rest of the race.   🙂    It was an amazing site to see.  I was yelling encouragement to as many people as I could.  I looked down and saw my last mile split – 7:40??!  Uh oh!  It didn’t even feel that hard.  Uh oh.  I am kind of stubborn too, so now I HAD to keep my sub 8:00 status.

Miles 10-12 (7:52, 7:47, 7:54) So I held on to my status. Haha.  I was still feeling pretty good, but around mile 11 or so I felt a twinge in my left hamstring all the up to my booty.  Who knows what it was, but my music also gave out on mile 12.  Dang!! I could not mess with my iPod because my hands were frozen stiff.  Oh well, I only had 1.1 miles left.   😉

Mile 13 (7:47) I was so glad for my music malfunction!  I was able to take it all in.  All of the noise and cheers.  I saw a lot of my favorite people volunteering for the race during the last mile as well.  It’s a great way to finish a race- I had a little extra pep in my step.

GGfinish

Official Finish Time : 1:46:25  PR for this chick.  I am super excited about this.  🙂

It was a day of PR’s.  Mary got a PR too and so did Amara!!!  Amara ended up running the race “alone” She was never really alone though, right?!?!  She totally crushed her 34 and 32 minute goal!!  31:04!!  What?!?!  I know.  She is amazing!!!   So very proud of her!!  I guess Matt and I have been holding her back when we “pace” her during 5k’s…ooops.

GGamarafinish

Our standard finish line picture!

Our standard finish line picture!

It was a great race.  Very well run and the crowd support was awesome.  Not to mention the shirts and the finisher’s charm!

I had my engraved on the back with my time and 2013.  :-)

I had my engraved on the back with my time and 2013. 🙂

ggshirt

I can’t wait until next year!

2 thoughts on “Gazelle Girl Half Marathon Recap

  1. I’m loving reading all these Gazelle Girl recaps today. Congrats on that PR – you were HAULING! Mega props to your girl, too!!

Leave a Reply

