4 days and The Irish Jig 5k Race Recap

Thursday–  1 hour spin.  5k on the treadmill.  Class was fun.  I might try to make it a habit to make this 1 hour spin class.  I forget how different it is to be a participant.  I like it!  Class was a tough one.  I like that!         🙂    After class I jumped on the treadmill for a quick run.  I had a lot of energy for such an early start.

Friday– Total Body Sculpt instruction at 5:45 am.  This class is a full body weights class that is scheduled for 60 minutes.  It’s been a while since I taught it, and I planned a 45 minute class.  I planned the timing perfectly- for a 45 minute class.  Ooops!  I don’t think anybody noticed my mistake.  I usually tell on myself, but not today.  I had the class go through the ab portion again and I added on some extra shoulder work, planks and hip/core exercises   Whew.  It all worked out well. I taught Spin instruction at 12 noon.  I did  an interval class for this rowdy bunch.     🙂

Saturday–  I wanted to run, but could did not do it on the treadmill.  I did intervals on the elliptical for 25 minutes.  5 minute warm up with 11 intervals of 60 seconds on and 60 seconds off.   I thought about running a few miles after that, but then went to the Human Performance Lab for a quick circuit.

Sat.Circuit

It took me about  12 minutes or so to complete the quick circuit.  Short, sweet and effective.  I was pumped because I was able to do 4 pull ups per set.

SaturdayCircuit

Irish Jig 5k at 9:35 am  Pretty consistent Miles for Amara.  I let her pace us.  She was only 1 minute off of her PR!!  Sometimes I wonder if I should push her a bit more, but I want her to continue to like running….so I back off and only speak when I feel it necessary.  There were a few inclines on the course and Amara attacked each and one of them with such force!  She not complain a lot either.  I mean, she’s only 8, so I was expecting to hear more complaints. It was a cold day (especially compared to last years race- it was 78* when the race started.)   Amara got a cramp and her hands were cold ( hope she’s not taking after me).  Her next race is scheduled to be the Gazelle Girl 5k on April 13th.  There is still room – sign up!  She says she is wanting to PR at the 5/3 Riverbank 5k this year.      🙂     So very proud of her.  She is one of those sneaky competitive people.  I’ll take it, and I think I will keep her.           😉

Sunday– OFF

If you noticed, I did not post up my bed times for the last 4 days.  I forgot what time I finally made it to bed, but  I think I only made my goal one time in 4 days.  Fail.  I did foam roll twice though.  Yoga was a big fat 0.  Awesome.  Not so much.  I still have time for 3 yoga sessions to do before month’s end.  I wonder if I will do it……..stay tuned.       😉

Leave a Reply

