No Soup For You!

Sunday- OFF.  It was a busy day and I was feeling the effects from Friday’s K.O. class.  2 minutes of push ups will do that to ya I guess.  I spent the day making 3 soups for the 10 day Advocare Herbal Cleanse.  Mexican Red Lentil Stew with Lime and Cilantro.   I mostly followed the recipe.  Tried to double it, but did not have enough veggies so I improvised.   I chopped up 2 handfuls of spinach to make it enough.  Problem solved!  I also did not have red lentils, juts the ugly greenish brown ones.  This was the first time I made this and I really like it.  You should try it.  I also made Black Bean and Butternut Squash Chili.  You should make this one too.  We have soup coming out of our ears.  Paired with a salad this is the perfect lunch.  Full of enough protein ( beans) as well as complex carbohydrates.  1-1.5 cups is all you need to be satisfied.  The 3rd soup is one I have made several times and love it.  It’s a Dr. Oz. Recipe. Fat Melting Vegetarian Chili.  It’s super spicy so beware!  The hot spices are a huge help in boosting your metabolism to help you burn fat.  🙂   The kitchen was a mess, but well worth the trouble.  No soup for you– unless you make it yourself.  Or if I share it with you.   Bedtime:  12:30 am      what??!?!

Monday:Spin Instruction.  Today was a nice little interval class.  My class was about 7-10 people less than usual.  What’s up with that?!?  It wasn’t even nice outside.   😉  Oh well, the 25 people that came sure made up for the ones that skipped out!  The work phases today were between 3 and 5 minutes with a 2 minute recovery between each “block”.  I urged the class to take the full 2 minutes because when it was time to work , I wanted them working hard.  Most were thankful for the long 2 minutes of rest.  We all know that 2 minutes is not that long, but hey-   🙂  .                                Foam Roll: 11 minutes.   Bedtime:  12:15 am   ( Did you notice it was earlier than Sunday…)

Tuesday:  8 miler.  Click on that if you want to read my notes on this run.  I am so glad I went out.  I  planned on 6 miles, which usually means I will run 4.  So, I am super happy that I added on 2 miles instead of taking 2 away.

WP_20130305_005 WP_20130218_003

 Things are looking up!  😉   I think I am sick of the weather and also sick of the treadmill.  I don’t particularly enjoy running by myself, but getting my schedule and my running buddies schedules coordinated is impossible.  So, if I wanna run, it’s gotta be with myself. I wore the Nike Flyknit Lunar One shoes today.  From the site:  Sleek styling and environmentally friendly, the Nike® Flyknit Running Shoe features a one-string construction that minimizes post-production waste. The polyester yarns have embedded Flywire technology for a performance oriented fit that is seamless, comfortable and ready to deliver during fast-paced training. Lunarlon cushioning and the dynamic support platform offer in-step cushioning for a smooth, effortless transition from heel-to-toe. I have worn them once before,but it was indoors on the treadmill for about 3 miles.  I wanted to run longer in them and outside.  They are SOOOO bright.  I kinda like them.  I am not a fan of Nike running shoes- they just don’t work for me.  BUT, these were nice to run in!  It’s a neutral shoe ( I pronate a bit), but it didn’t seem to matter this time.  I like to stick to a shoe with some stability because I don’t want to injure myself.  I might not run in these a lot, but I just might have to buy a hot pink shirt so I can wear them around town.    Bedtime:  10:15 pm  ( yes!!!)

Wednesday:  Cardio Sculpt at 6 am.  We did more high intensity interval training and Tabata circuits. Our 4 Tabata (20 seconds of work with 10 seconds of rest- 8 times to equal 4 minutes) circuits included jump rope, mountain climbers, push up + knee ins and finally, burpees ( ouch)  Fun!!  The class did really, REALLY well.  I was impressed.   🙂    After all that fun I got to teach spin at 10 am.  Strength class today.   Today’s class included 2 (12) minute hills.  It was a tough one, but everyone made it out mostly alive.  After that, I had to talk with Mary because the brat woman went to the PINK concert last night!!!  Lucky duck!   That would have been an awesome show to see.  PINK is awesome.  Now she’s trying to go see Bruno Mars and Ellie Goulding in concert.  My birthday is in May.  I would even accept Justin Timberlake tickets.  Just sayin’……We gabbed it up while  on the elliptical for 30 minutes.  I think I had my fill of exercise for the day.  Whew. Foam Roll:  10 minutes   Bedtime: 10 pm YES!

* Advocare Herbal Cleanse– Matt and I are starting day 4 of 10 today(Thursday).  It’s not so bad.  Just a few things about this cleanse.  It has 10 grams of fiber.  It helps to remove impurities from the body.  It supports digestion.  It’s recommended that you do this particular cleanse every 90 days.  Totally doable!  You do eliminate some foods – sugar ( the hardest for me as it is Jelly Bean Season  <—–  true story),  fried foods, alcohol, coffee and dairy.  You eliminate processed foods as well.  Things to include in your lifestyle :  Lots of fruits and veggies, lots of water and herbal teas.  Complex carbs and proteins.  Spark!  Easy enough!  It seems that this cleanse rolls around right when I need it most.  ( like I said, it is Jelly Bean Season).

advocarecleanse

 

For most, weight loss also happens during the cleanse.  It’s just a bonus if you ask me and not the reason why I do it.  My main goal is to get back on track with nutrition and I feel this is the best way for me.  🙂  Message me with any questions.

Leave a Reply

