The Groundhog (Half) Marathon Recap

Recap time!  Finally…..  😉  The Groundhog Marathon

Well the morning started out really cold and it ended cold too!  We had over 6 inches of snow dumped on us over two days– possibly in one night.  It was over a week ago so I forget.  Anyway, if I had not WON the free entry I would not have been running outside!  The race started at 8am.  I took a shuttle to the start line– that was a great addition to this race as there was not enough parking at the venue.

Getting ready to drive to the race.  Look at all that yucky snow!  :)

Getting ready to drive to the race. Look at all that yucky snow! 🙂

I dressed properly ( I swapped out the vest for a jacket).  I was nice and warm without overheating.

The race was to start in waves, but I don’t think that really happened.  People were really excited to run I guess.  My first  mile was almost 13 minutes!  I knew then that this was going to be a training run for me.  No big deal.  Even during the first mile I knew this was going to be a fun race.  People were dressed up as groundhogs too.

Miles 2-9 were all in the 10 min. area except for one, I was a bit over an 11 minute mile.  I started to fade a bit after mile 8 or 9.  Running through the deep snow was not easy.  I am so glad I wore my Yaktrax – I knew for sure I would NOT be on pavement at all during this race.  That is a pet peeve of mine while wearing these–hitting pavement- super annoying.  My family also came out to support me– this was a huge surprise as I told them to stay home!  The kids really wanted to play in the snow so they got to do that as well.

Amara and Miles in the snow

Amara and Miles in the snow

Woo hoo- Mile 10 was sub 10 minutes!  🙂  I was starting to feel very fatigued by now.  While running in the snow for so long I am sure I was tense the entire time– bracing myself to stay upright I guess.  The last 2 miles I found myself feeling unbalanced….it turns out my Yaktrax were coming off!  If I was a normal person I would have stopped to put them back on, but I am abnormal.  My hands don’t cooperate as they should so I knew it would have been a waste of time and potentially dangerous ( frostbite anyone?!?)  for me to take my gloves off with 2 miles still left to go.  No thanks yo.  I suffered though the awkwardness of half off Yaktrax!

The last 3 miles I don’t really remember,but I do remember Amara throwing a snowball at me right before the finish line!  I also remember my music running out!  I thought I needed it for the last few miles, but I really didn’t.  The crowd and volunteers gave me the push I needed.     🙂

I grounded her later on for being so mean and violent to me....    ;)

I grounded her later on for being so mean and violent to me…. 😉

My final time was 2:20.  I will take it!  It was a really fun race.  Take it from this snow hater.  I recommend this race for next year and if I don’t win an entry I would seriously consider paying!      🙂

Garmin stats

 

 

My fuel for the race:

Breakfast was oatmeal and 2 clementines.

O2 Gold Advance 60 minutes before the race

Spark  half before my oatmeal and the other half on the way to the race

During the race I drank the provided water and Gatorade.  Usually I carry my own stuff during the race, but since I had on ski gloves I was not able to hold or open anything.  I usually use Rehydrate electrolyte replacement drink and Rehydrate gels.

Here’s a cool shot that the race photographer snapped of me during the race.

marcia groundhog half

And here’s one that a nice stranger offered to take of my family.  It turns out he was a fan of Amara’s big hair!  He was sure to tell her that before he left.       😉

I could not feel my hands anymore. I should have never taken off my gloves!

I could not feel my hands anymore. I should have never taken off my gloves!

2 thoughts on “The Groundhog (Half) Marathon Recap

Leave a Reply

