Week in Review and SLEEP!

Feb3-ends week
Happy February!February

Time sure does fly…….I say that every month though.  Get used to it!  😉  Last week was a busy one.  Workout wise and life wise.Workout wise was a packed week, with no rest.  Well, I did an active recovery day, but I should have just taken the whole day off.  It was my week to teach Cardio Sculpt in the morning.  It was a fun class.  I sent half of the group upstairs with a medicine ball in had to run/jog/walk 2 laps around the track while the other half did  bear crawls, broad jumps and other fun stuff in the studio.  Paired with cardio and weight circuits I think it was an all around great workout.  I also taught Total Body Sculpt on Friday morning.  I did no cardio on this day since I had a race on Saturday.  Well, I probably should have eased up on myself in this class as well, but not so much.  Step ups, dead lifts and hamstring curls were on the agenda and I attacked them with gusto since I have been slacking in the weight training department as of late.  It was fun though- super sore ( It’s hard to differentiate between soreness from classes or the race– I am sure it’s a good mix of both!)

Sleep-Dep-1

Between the kids activities, my own and working outside of the home, life gets exhausting!  Not complaining just sayin’….. I keep reading how I need 7-9 hours of sleep each night in order to be healthy.  Ooops.  I consider 5.5 hours of sleep ( even if its broken sleep) a great night!  Not getting enough sleep can lead to obesity and heart problems.  ( no thanks) Not good.  I actually don’t think I would be able to sleep for that many hours in a row.  Seriously.  Sometime last year I made a conscious effort to get to bed before 10:30 pm- Often times I am getting up between 4:30 and 5:30 am to work or to get my own workout in.  So I do what I have to do—    I seem to function better than you might think on not so much sleep.  It’s more noticeable after several days in a row of low sleep that I start to fizzle, and/or get a tude’ .  So says Matt–pretty sure I am still my sweet self though.  🙂   I found that when I went to bed 1-2 hours earlier than usual, I spent 45 minutes to 1 hour NOT sleeping.  I was trying to fall asleep unsuccessfully anyway, so I might as well be up doing stuff- right?!?!  Right.  I love to rationalize when it just makes sense.  So anyway, I might give it a try again.  I made the goal of doing yoga 1x/week this month ( and I already failed that one) so I will add that I will be in bed before 10:45 pm this month.  Wish me luck!

homersleeping

*Race recap still to come…..

Question:  How many hours a night of sleep do you get?  I am open to ANY tips you have that will get me to sleep at night!

2 thoughts on “Week in Review and SLEEP!

  1. I think I saw you during the half – you looked like you were booking!

    My sleep is so broken that I’ve pretty much given up. I go to be early (by 10) and I’ve been trying Ambien for sleep, but even that only gives me 6 hours max. My husband’s snoring does NOT help and many nights I head downstairs at 3 or 4 when he really gets going. Hopefully you find something that works for you.

Leave a Reply

