Mom.Wife.Fitness.LIFE-Friday Feature

  1. Name  Jamie Sullivan
  2. Where do you live? Grand Rapids, MI
  3. How many children do you have? I have a son and I am pregnant with my second Ages? 17 months
  4. 4.   How long have you lead an active lifestyle? For as long as I can remember I have been active. I grew up playing basketball, volleyball, and running track. In college I played club volleyball and also fell in love with spinning, strength training, and running for enjoyment. I have continued to be very active since college.
  5. Has your focus or priorities changed about exercise since having kids?  Explain. Prior to having my son I could work out whenever I wanted for as long as I wanted. Looking back I’ve realized that I was actually overtraining. Since having my son, I have been forced to cut back on my training but I still make it a priority. My workouts now have to be very efficient. I am able to get in 4 hard workouts per week.
  6. What is your favorite type of exercise? I love to be active in a variety of ways but I would have to say strength training is my favorite.
  7. What have you taught your children about exercise? My son is still young but he already knows that exercise is part of our routine. Every morning that I don’t work we are at the Y at 8am. Whenever I go for a run he goes with me in the jogging stroller. It actually feels weird for me to run without pushing a stroller now 🙂  I want him to grow up knowing how important it is to exercise.
  8. How do you stay motivated to keep fit/active? I honestly have never had a problem with motivation. I love to be active and need to exercise to feel “normal.” I am a registered nurse so I am caring for patients all day at work then come home to care for my son. Exercise is my “me” time and my much needed stress reliever. Right now I am extra motivated to stay active so I can have a healthy pregnancy and healthy baby.
  9. One tip or piece of advice you can offer other moms to get their kids moving? My advice would be to make it fun and start early so it becomes a habit. 

Thanks Jamie!!  I met Jamie years ago at the gym; she was a regular in my spin classes and then soon became certified to teach spin herself!  It was fun watching her go through her pregnancy as an active mommy to be.

Leave a Reply

