Weekly update…….and setbacks

dec10-16

Last week had some challenges.  My house is sick.  Well, 3 out of 4 of us have colds.  Miles was the first one to get hit.  HE actually slept for over 15 hours at the beginning of the week (yes, all in a ROW).  I thought for sure he would not be up for going to school, but he was.  Maybe he was just exhausted.  Kindergarten is hard work ya know.   🙂  He fought a good fight, but a few days later he for sure had a cold.  Not too bad, just the usual stuffy, runny nose and just tired.  Amara is stuffed up every other day and I started feeling the most run down by Friday.  Matt, somehow escaped the germies.  I don’t think I took Sunday off, but I honestly can’t remember.  Oh well.  Monday was the usual, TRX, Spin and running.  2 mile repeats was the assignment this week.  I think it went fairly well.  We could push the pace if we wanted to.  I think I could have pushed even more, BUT I am still a bit apprehensive with this breathing stuff. I don’t want to push my luck.  So, I didn’t and all went really well! See for yourself.  It was pretty cold too, but that’s good.  Winter is almost here, so I might as well just get used to it already.  Tuesday was going to be a day off because I was not able to workout in the early morning.  I have a very hard time getting motivated to go to the gym anytime after 12 noon.  Spoiled, I guess.   Nah.  I just like to get it out of the way.  After being on your feet for 5-8 hours I find that I am tired.  Weird, huh??  But I dragged myself to the gym and got in a 45 minute session on the elliptical.  I was too tired for intervals, so I just kept it at an easy pace.  Wednesday brings me back to Cardio Sculpt instruction and spin instruction.  We concentrated on shoulders in class with increasing weights for 4 sets.  I decided to take Thursday off.  I was really tired and I knew I was to run Saturday and Sunday so I might as well take my rest day now- right?!?!  Friday I was on for the 5:30 am spin class.  I am not going to lie, I was feeling VERY tired and run down.  I had a late meeting at Gazelle Sports and was not home until after 10:30 pm.  I stayed up until almost 11:30 pm winding down.  I was up at 4:30 for spin.  I am not the best sleeper lately, so I probably got 4 hours or less of broken sleep.  Not good.  I dragged myself into spin class to be welcomed by 21 spinners!!!  This pretty much made my morning.  I was awake and ready to teach.  Thanks to all of those early morning exercises that chose to spin with me–they really do motivate me.  I did not lift weights as I had plans to lift with friends later, but in lieu of the tragedy that happened to innocent kids and teachers I decided to hang with my family instead of doing that.  I think it was a great decision.   Saturday I was not sure how I would be feeling for a run with Laurie, but I did set my alarm and promptly turned it off when it summonsed me at 6:15 am.  Nope.  No run or workout today.  I needed the rest more.  It was a great week considering some set backs.  That’s OK though…set backs are a part of life.  It’s all about balance and getting back on track when you can.  photo (28) photo (27) photo (26)Just some scenes from what I was up to last week.  Up to no good.    Amara’s team won!!  I think she took another shot  she missed, but hey.  She seems to get a bit more aggressive with each game.  This is a good thing.  She also hustles to the end of the court where she needs to be, but once there she is not sure what to do.  Or so it seems.  But what do I know?  I never played basketball ( the right way).  Anyway, I am very proud of her for giving this sport a chance.  She still says she likes soccer best, but she has only played 3 games so far.  🙂  Miles is not in any sport at the moment.  Kid has energy for days though, so this must be fixed- and soon!  Hoping my household is on the mend and that Matt does not try to get in on the action.

Question:  How to you deal with set-backs in your pre-planned week?

Leave a Reply

