Mom.Wife.Fitness.LIFE-Friday Feature

My name is Wendi Scholten and I live in Grand Rapids, MI. I am a 39 year old mother of two kids. My daughter is 9 and my son turns 4 in a few weeks. I have been exercising regularly all my life. I was never really involved in sports, but I grew up skiing and hiking with my parents. I also remember going to group fitness classes with my mom which I loved. Since having children I don’t get to the gym to workout unless I am teaching a class. I have learned to fit in extra activity at home where it is more convenient. Currently, my favorite type of exercise is HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) training!
I love fusing cardio and strength segments in to one workout. Variety is a necessity in my exercise program. I constantly change my workouts and I think that is why I don’t struggle very much with motivation. I always have something new to look forward to; whether training for a half marathon or trying some new kettlebell moves, it keeps me excited to workout.
As far as kids go, working out in front of them lets them see how fun exercise can be. I’ve also ran with my daughter since she was five and we’ve done several 5k’s together. I never make them “exercise,” and when we run I let her lead the pace. I have strong opinions about TV and video games and I try to get the kids outside every day to encourage physical activity!

Wendi and her daughter Harlee after The Color Run this year. 🙂

Thanks Wendi! A little fact about Wendi and I. We met a long. She was actually my boss! Because it was part of my job discription; I HAD to teach spinning. I was not a fan of Spin for quite a while either. Well, that was at least 10 years ago. It has become my favorite class to teach by far. She also got me more interested in long distance running. I was not one to run more than a 5k at a time, that changed after meeting Wendi and witnessing her daily 7 mile + runs before work. She has been an inspiration and mentor to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

