It’s October!

Happy October.  The year is flying by!  It’s been a while……busy, busy BUSY!!  That’s a good thing.  I have been teaching my classes and working some hours at Gazelle Sports.  I am learning new things every time I work.  I am literally in awe of the knowledge that my co workers have in regard to shoes!   They are totally shoe geeks and I hope to be one someday.

Classes are going well too.  My Friday spin class is back on!  It was on hiatus for the summer.  I am back at the crack of dawn at 5:30 am.  I am rotating this class every other week.  That works out great for me.  And I’m not gonna lie, getting up at 4:45 am is kind of whack!  🙂  I have been diligent with TRX twice a week for the past month.  I would still like to add one more day of strength training, but I will take my 2 days and be happy with that for now.  A few weeks ago I ran my best feeling race in a long time, I thought I would run a half marathon the following weekend.  I kept procrastinating signing up for the race ( as usual)  and on the morning of the race I saw a few sprinkles in Grand Rapids ( the race was in Holland).  I wussed out and didn’t sign up for the race   😦    I was so bummed for most of the day, because the rain sprinkles scared me away.  The sun was out and it was an awesome day in the high 60s.   I got online to see how everyone else did ( boo hoo).  Well it turns out the race was cancelled.  It was cancelled during the actual race though!  I was not happy that this happened, but I was happy that I did not sign up and waste my hard earned money on a half marathon that would not count!  Whew!  So, that brings us to   my next race.  The Grand Rapids Half Marathon in 2 weeks.  Wheee!  I am already signed up.  Ha.  No turning back now.  I have to make some goals and hope for the best ( best meaning my breathing issues cooperate on that day).  I will have to just relax and have fun with it, that seemed to work last time.

Kids are doing well.  School seems to still be well liked by both of them.  We have not had any bad behavior notes sent home about Miles (yet).  😉  I know it will happen at some point in his school years though.  That kid!   Both kids are into soccer now.  Amara announced that she is liking it now.  She was not so sure about it until this week.  I am happy about that .  I don’t mind being a soccer mom, just as long as I don’t have to drive a mini van.  It’s one of those things that I have said I will NEVER do (again).  I drove a mini van when I was a teenager and loved it,but those days are over.  I am content at the moment with our small SUV Subaru ( not a station wagon).  Miles is loving soccer too.  They say he is good.  I don’t know if that’s true yet, but I do know that he is fun to watch and he is having a blast out there on the field.  He scored 4 of his teams 6 goals to have their first win last weekend.  I mean, it’s a bunch of 4 and 5-year-old kids playing soccer– pure comedy.  They each have 4 games left and then it’s onto the next sport.

Matt and I have given up our Friday night date nights until soccer is over.  We need the kids in bed and sleeping on time.  We don’t have a sitter to put them to bed so we will hopefully resume those date nights in November.  He has been fishing for fish (duh) and will probably get in his first hunt this weekend.  If the weather behaves that is.  Matt turns 34 tomorrow.  Miles turns 5 tomorrow.  Holy crap he is getting old!  (Miles, not Matt).

I think I covered everything-it’s been a little bit. I really am hoping to get back to a regular schedule of blogging soon.  I have some ideas, but would love some of your feedback as well.  Drop me a comment or email and let me know your thoughts.

P.S Team Tough Chik is now open for registration!  I plan on joining again and will be sporting my tank during the marathon in a few weeks.  They have more sponsors offering discounts and they are a very supportive group of women.  Check them out and sign up!

Leave a Reply

