Racing in the hot weather = NOT fun and other adventures.

–  It’s HOT.  This is not news to anyone that lives in my city or close to it.  It’s summer.  It’s hot.  We get it.   🙂   I don’t know if it’s the heat or the fact that we don’t have central air ( be very sad for me because it sucks), or a combo of the two, but I was exhausted all week-long.  It’s probably due to lack of sleep as well ( all goes back to it no central air making it hard to sleep).  What I am trying to say is that I did not get up early as many times as I should have.  I slacked on riding my bike for 2 weeks now.  Ooops!

One cool thing I was able to do a few weeks ago was PUNCH.  It’s a boxing class at Allegro Coaching.  I have wanted to try this class out for a long time but am too cheap to pay for it ,  but was having trouble finding a time that worked for me.  5:30am it will be!  This was so much fun!  It was 1 hour-long.  We warmed up, went through proper technique, did some drills and then it was time to hit the heavy bag!  I thought that was going to be my favorite part, but we then took turns hitting the focus mitts.  Now what was fun! It made me feel kind of like a bad ass. Or bad assier if there is such a term…. If you are in the area and want to try this place out, they have an amazing deal for new members. They offer so much more than PUNCH– TRX and bootcamp just to name a few. I am thinking about signing up for the month, but I have to check my couch cushions for some loose dollar bills change!  😉

Amara waiting for it to get dark so she can watch the action! FIREWORKS!

Miles hunting for rocks in Reed’s Lake.

July 4th–  It’s still summer vacation ( for kids, not me). Since my last post on June 23rd I ran a race.  Well; I ran/jogged/walked a race!  It was on July 4th. It was a trail race.  I don’t run on trails except once a year on July 4th. ( Who’s smart?   This chick)  It was hot.  I imagine hell being kinda like the race.  Only not as hot.  I have been doing really REALLY well with not having any vocal cord issues.  I went into the 10 mile trail race knowing it was going to be hot and humid and miserable. ( this is my 3rd time running this, so I knew how challenging this race was).  What I did not know was that I was going to want to give up before mile 4.  Mile 4??  Really!?!? My vocal cords decided to “flare up” or whatever it is they do.  It lasted about 2 miles or so…I don’t know for sure, but I do know that it was miserable!  😦   But, I plowed through somehow. I walked.  A lot.   Thankfully the race started an hour earlier (8am) to beat the heat….but trust me, I don’t think it mattered! Hot is hot Until next year T-REX.  I have no idea why I keep doing this to myself???   🙂

A picture from an early morning run last week…..

This month in my gym’s spin classes we are following the Tour de France! It’s really fun and the members seem to really enjoy it so far.  I like it because I don’t have to come up with a workout this month!   : )   It’s nice to have it made for me for once!  Basically, whatever the Tour racers are doing, we do the same!  I have taught 3 stages so far and they keep getting more difficult!  Speaking of cycling…I FINALLY got out on the road today! I almost rode 30 miles too.  Go BIG or go HOME!  http://connect.garmin.com/activity/196729444   I learned how to shift my gears correctly (again) and take on some hills today.  I felt a lot better in my approach too.  At one point we were going 30+ miles an hour downhill.  I am not a fan of such things.  Really.  It freaks me out!  As much as I hate going up hill, I really can’t stand going down!  Oh well.  If I do Tri Del Sol in a few weeks I really should make sure I am out on the road next week. I say if because I know it will be hot and humid and I know that last year I did not do so hot in the weather.  You would think this would be a no brainer for me, but sadly, it’s not.  I will see how I feel the day before the race ( since that’s when I sign up for just about every race.)

I wanted to give myself weekly challenges this month.  Last week it was 100 walking lunges (per leg) 3x a week.   It took me less than 8 minutes each time I did it so it was not a matter of time at all.  Now, that brings us to this week.  I was already out of ideas..haha!  I asked the question on my Facebook page and the only response I got was to do 100 burpees 3x/ this week.  To that I said no way!  Sorry Wendi!  🙂  BUT, I WILL do it next week.  You saw it here folks! This week because I am unbelievably exhausted, I decided to do 100 core exercises 3x.  This might not seem a big deal to most of you, but    I have problems with my core.  #1 problem is I don’t spend enough time working on it!  Well I worked on it for the first time yesterday.  So that leaves today and tomorrow to meet my goal.  Not ideal, but I’m pretty much a rebel.

Until next time!

PS- my brother tok 4th at his bodybuilding show!!!  So very proud of him.  He took 3 days off?? And he’s back at it again.  🙂

PPS.  Do you Instagram?   If you want to follow me my username is mardgra.

PPPs- Amara and I ran a 5k at the end of June.  She wanted to have fun so we did. We hit every sprinkler, we talked and laughed and had a great time being together.  After she found out her time…a respectable 39:00 minutes and 5 minutes slower than her PR; she changed her tune.  She does NOT want to have fun next time.  😉  Yep, she’s my kid!

5k action! Reed’s Lake…..

Leave a Reply

