20 miles and my poor, poor hammies…

As you may remember from my previous posts, my glutes rarely work.  Truth be told, the back sides of my legs in general don’t get much of a workout.  So this week, I wanted to guarantee that I got ‘em real good.  This is all well and good except for the fact that I had a 20 mile run today!  It’s never a good sign when you wake up the morning of a long run like this and your legs are already sore.  :-/  I was really not looking forward to the 20 mile run and I was convinced that it was not going to go well.  I had a long week and was on my feet all day Friday.   I went to bed sore and pretty sure the run was doomed.

I had a dream that night about an older gentleman from the Y that I have a lot of respect for, and he was giving me a gentle lecture about the one thing holding me back from the long run was my disbelief in my ability to actually do it.  I woke up slightly devastated that he was disappointed in me and I was even more determined to complete the run successfully.

The alarm went off just before 4:45AM and I woke up with sore legs (remember, the poor, poor hammies), but really wanted to stay positive.  Shortly after 6AM we were on our way.  We ran the Forest Hills/Ada area and it was hill after hill after hill.  It’s pretty relentless, and definitely not the easiest route to try and get those long miles in.  A hill workout … perfect.  Long miles … miserable!  In our mid-run conversation, Marcia and I both revealed that we had been worried about struggling through it, but didn’t say anything to each other because we didn’t want to affect each others run (we’re such good partners.  😉 ).  We kept at it and stayed positive and I’m happy to report that we had a very successful run!  I seriously was so proud of us.  It is a tough route and we both have long weeks filled with physically exhausting activities (oh the life of fitness instructors), but we did it!…I’ll even go so far as to say we did it well.  🙂  So happy to be done with it and so proud of the accomplishment.

4 weeks until The Glass City Marathon!

2 thoughts on “20 miles and my poor, poor hammies…

Leave a Reply

