Hey Glutes…where you at?

No seriously, why don’t these things work?  They act like a couple of bums (pun ABSOLUTELY intended, ha!).  My glutes never seem to pull their own weight when it comes to muscles used in exercise.  I have lived with a flat rump for years… and I’m ok with that.  However, when the glutes are weak and don’t activate during exercise, it can be a problem.  I don’t notice it too often, but last fall when I really started to add the miles on to my runs, I would get bad hip and knee pain.  My glutes just weren’t firing up during exercise, and my quads were being overloaded.  The tight quadricep was pulling the knee in, thus causing pain in the knee and hip.  Most people can do squats and lunges to strengthen glutes, but I could do them all day and not feel it in my glutes… ‘cuz they are lazy!  Here are a few of the exercises that I do that seem to do the trick….

7 thoughts on “Hey Glutes…where you at?

    • Ugh, I’m sorry to hear that Heather…so frustrating. Keep up the glute work though…it will pay off! We can reconnect in a few months and talk about our buns of steel. 😉

    • Thanks for reading Marcia! Another great exercise that I did to get strong for the marathon was tube walking. Here is a clip of the exercise. I did 2 mins left, 2 mins right, 2 mins forward, and 2 mins back. I tried to do it 3-4x a week. It made a HUGE difference for me.

  1. Thanks so much for sharing these! I’ve worked on that first one but adding the stair height…I’m going to try that! That last one…whew…so impressed you can even do it! I don’t think my glutes can hang with it yet. I’m going to start working on it now 🙂

    • Thanks for reading and commenting! These glutes of mine have been a real challenge. I think being consistent is the most important thing (and when it comes to glut work, I struggle with that sometimes). Good luck and let me know if these work well for you!

  2. Pingback: Let the marathon countdown begin! | mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

Leave a Reply

