Gotta Love a Good Saturday

Saturday was a “step back” in our marathon training.  We ONLY ran 12 miles.  Ha!  Next week the plan is 18.  Of course we had nice clear roads until just before the weekend…then the snow hit.  😦  I’ll look on the bright side…at least we got another chance to use our handy dandy “snow traks”…Ok, enough of the bright side…those things make my feet sore (back to the bright side…at least I’m not slipping and falling on my butt)!  We met early to get in a few miles before the Run Camp met.  The plan was to get 3 miles in before we joined the group.  I got in 2.97 miles, and tried to keep going until I got to 3, but Marcia told (ok, YELLED at) me to stop…she used her “I mean business” voice, so I knew I better obey.  Sometimes I need someone to snap me out of my crazy, anal, obsessive self…and Marcia was NOT havin’ it this weekend.  We ran at a pretty good pace (bright side)…with the exception of the hills…(back to the dark side…unfortunately, it was pretty hilly).  Another positive, my heart rate average was really low (147).  All in all, it was a good training run.

The rest of my morning and afternoon consisted of a lot of lounging around.

Napping in front of the fire with Runner

Runner and I took a nap together, and then we had the kids have “quiet time” while Trevor and I made indoor smores.

Smores made with Reese's Peanut Butter cups...Yummo!

We then went on to the Saturday Vespers service at church, then to surprise the kids with ice cream at the Cold Stone Creamery (thanks to gift cards!). 🙂

The grand finale of the day was to surprise the kids by heading to Devos Performing Arts Center to see the Broadway production of Mary Poppins (thanks to Trevor’s principal for the free tickets)!


They were super excited (even though they had no idea what they were about to see.  ha!).          It was so fun to see their reaction as the musical started and they realized what they were actually witnessing.  I sat with Hamilton and Lila and they both have pretty similar personalities.  They were both able to communicate their amazement, whereas Joachim and Callia just sort of sat there in awe.  One of the best quotes of the night came from Hamilton…”I wondered how I was gonna keep my eyes open the whole night, but now I wonder how I could ever close them.”.  🙂  All four stayed awake (the play was 2.5 hours long and started at 8pm) and were blown away by the performance (Trevor and I were too!).  All day today we’ve been listening to them singing “a spoonfull of sugar helps the medicine go down.”  It’s pretty darn cute.  🙂

One thought on “Gotta Love a Good Saturday

Leave a Reply

