What inspires you?

I really love my job.  I love, love, LOVE the people who I come into contact with on a daily basis.  Yes its exhausting at times.  Yes, it’s so much more than getting paid to workout ( as a lot of people think–wouldn’t that be nice).  Am I underpaid??  Under appreciated??  You betcha!   😉   But I knew that going into this line of work 15 years ago and I am still doing it!  It’s about motivating, inspiring, and building relationships with the people you coach, train or instruct.  Little do the participants know how much they inspire and motivate me every. single. day.

  • The woman who has lost 181 lbs and has 15 lbs left to go.
  • The 65-year-old woman who comes to class without fail because she enjoys my gangster motivating spin music and class.  She thanks me every single time.
  • The new mom that has never had to workout in the past, but is at the gym not to regain her former figure, but to get away from it all and “just be“.  She found herself again in a Cardio dance type class.
  • The former college athlete found his mojo again after signing up for one of the gyms specialty classes and feels alive again.
  • A woman who was in a horrible car accident over 5 years ago was told she was not going to be able to walk.  I guess they were wrong..she is a spinning machine and inquired about becoming an instructor.

These are just a few of the people I have met over the years that keep me inspired and motivated to do well at my job.  Not that they read this blog, but

Who was the last person to inspire you?

8 thoughts on “What inspires you?

  1. My 3rd grade teacher inspires me. My home life was quite a mess and she made me realize I was worth it. Things at home got considerably worse over the years growing up, but the lessons she instilled in me have never diminished (if you’re 9 in 3rd grade and I’m 41 now, that’s a long time!). She still inspires me in everything I do that anything is possible. Since then there have been other instrumental people in my life, but becoming a Mom nearly 20 years ago made the biggest difference. I realized I could create whatever traditions, home life, etc… and make my kids life what mine never was – filled with encouragement, love, safety, warmth. Part of why I run is to be an example to them.

  2. What kind thoughts MPG..a friend/colleague/mentor..heped me work through alot of personal stuff..groomed me…included me in every aspect of human services continously…called me on my bs still does..lol..thanks for asking..i’m a sucker for interaction..nothin betta..than a little transparency..

  3. My fiance’ inspires me every day. She makes me feel appreciated and believes in me that I will be a great husband soon! Not that I get to see her enough but I am hopeful and am excited to be with her on a more consistent basis. Because of her inspiration I can work extra hours and give that little bit extra in order to make things better for us!!!

Leave a Reply

