The Snowmans Half Marathon Race Recap

My turn! ūüôā
I usually give a mile-by mile recap, but naturally my Garmin would not allow that to happen. My race vanished. I was/am so sad about that, because I wanted to really look at my HR! I know it was nowhere near race pace, but the final 200 yards or so was…and I felt like crap! I just wanted to know how high I got it. Oh well, maybe next time!

As you already read in Andi’s recap; the¬†weather¬†was less than¬†enjoyable¬†to say the least. ¬†I know, we live in Michigan and it is almost¬†February, but the day before the race was nice and mild and snow-free! ¬†We should have known better!

The first mile was deceiving. ¬†It was on a paved road. That was the last of that ( until the end as it was an out and back race). ¬†We were probably on mile 2 or so when the lead runners for the 5k were coming back. ¬†The crazy leader of the pack was in shorts and had no shirt on. ¬†What an idiot show-off! ¬†ūüôā ¬†I¬†wondered¬†if he lost a bet or something?

It was pretty soon that we realized this would be a training run and not a race. ¬†It just so happens that for our full marathon training we should be at 13 miles. ¬†It all worked out. ¬†If I recall correctly mile 5-6 is when one of the first horrible wind gusts started. ¬†It was the kind that took your breath away. ¬†I do remember¬†grunting¬†a lot during this race. ¬†It seemed to help for some reason. ūüôā ¬†Miles 6-7 were bad as well, but as we got closer to the turn around everyone kept telling us “It gets better!” ¬†They were not lying. ¬†As soon as we turned around the wind stopped, the snow seemed to stop and my face thawed instantly. ¬†It was awesome. ¬†I think we actually sped up a tiny bit ( I don’t have the proof so just take my word for it) ¬†ūüėČ ¬†We were all very talkative, but not for long! ¬†After we turned left onto mile 8 – the fun started again. ¬†Hello wind! ¬†Andi and I decided to fuel with an FRS chew here.

Our fuel during the race......

I am very lucky that Andi decided to stick with me too. ¬†As you might know, I have poor circulation and my hands were basically frozen even before the race started. ¬†There was no way I was going to be able to open up the FRS or even get it out of my pocket. ¬†So, ¬†here is a public “Thank You” to Andi for opening and then feeding me the chew! ¬†So what she almost jammed her nail though my cheek? ¬†ūüėČ

I think that we tried to pick up the pace for the last 2-3 miles because it was cold, it was a race and we were on pavement that was not covered in ice. ¬†Our plan was to cross the finish line together. ¬†It was a narrow ¬†finish line, so I have no idea why the dude in front of me stopped to walk. ¬†The race was not even over yet, but he stopped to walk it in I guess. ¬†Ugh! ¬†I had to pull away from Andi or¬†risk¬†injury. ¬†Either to myself or to the walker. ¬†All in all I think it was a hard- core, fun, tough, unpredictable and well run half marathon and a great way to kick off the season. ¬†We can only get better from here..right?!?! ¬† ūüôā

Final stats:

Age group 29-34

5th place out of 11

Final time:  2:12:35.36

Overall: 135/179

Andi left me with this picture to post..the outtake!

We weren't ready yet!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Snowmans Half Marathon Race Recap

Leave a Reply

