Another Fitness Friday!…Mental Training

I recently took a class on-line called “Mental Training.”  I was really hoping it would be helpful in learning how to better motivate the people in my classes as well as my personal training clients.  As I began reading, I quickly realized that it was going to be motivation for me in my own endeavors!  The first few lessons were about learning to achieve peak performance…finding yourself in “the zone.”  Here is an excerpt from the book that better explains…

“Peak performance is commonly described as ‘a heightened level of consciousness,’ where the mind and body work harmoniously to produce extraordinary achievements.”

It went on to explain different techniques that can be used to achieve that “heightened level of consciousness”… i.e.  diaphragmatic breathing, a single-minded focus, an awareness of the body’s tension and being able to relax it, and probably the biggest… having the belief that you are able to accomplish the task at hand and to do it well.  I recently sent the following excerpts to my boot camp participants and I’d love to share them with you.  I hope they motivate you as much as they have me…

“Roger Bannister was the first human to run under a four minute mile. Since the beginning of recorded history, no one was ever able to break through this physical barrier. But what happened after Bannister ran that mile? Almost immediately, several others broke the barrier, too!”

Was the four-minute mile a physical barrier or a mental one? Human physical potential didn’t change. What changed was our belief in what was possible. When we change our beliefs about our limitations, the limits themselves change.”

“When you can see the finish line in front of you, there is little that can distract you from your goal. Why not ‘see’ the finish line throughout the race?”

Have you ever experienced that moment of “peak performance?”  What stands in your way?  Are your barriers physical or mental?

We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.
—Aristotle

6AM & believing I could get through my 3rd strength interval spin class in 18 hours! I think I can, I think I can!...

Leave a Reply

