A little perspective…

Things I complained about today…

I left my phone at the University Club after teaching my early morning spin class.

I headed home to get the girls to take them to get my phone and then to the Y so I could swim, but when I arrived I discovered that I had a sick kid and I couldn’t do any of the aforementioned.

I had to have the girls god-mother take them to their first ballet class of the session and I could not go, because of the sick child.

I went to the gym to swim before spin class #2 today and I sort of sucked worse than before.  I couldn’t for the life of me keep my hips up, I couldn’t find my “balance”, and I couldn’t swim in a straight line if my life depended on it!

The moment of perspective…

It was 9pm, and although I was warm and comfy at home and feeling like it was time to call it a night, I decided to go out and run an errand.  I happened to turn one driveway too soon for where I was heading, and as I was cutting through to the correct drive, I happened to look over at the side walk.  There was a man trying to help another man in a motorized  wheel chair.  The man in the wheelchair was a larger man with both legs amputated just below his waist.  After taking in the situation, I could see that the man helping was struggling.  I yelled over to see if they needed help.  They did.

The wheel chair had run out of “juice” and the man was stuck.  For those in the Grand Rapids area, you know that the weather is awful right now.  We had rain all night and this morning and then the temperature dropped and everything has now frozen… and the wind is atrocious!  So… Brad (the man helping) and I pushed this man (his tires were NOT moving) to the gas station down the street where he could get out of the cold and charge his wheel chair.  While the two of us were struggling to push and maneuver him, Brad asked him how long he had been stuck out in the cold.  His reply, “I was out there for a really long time”.

I was so heartbroken.  At the same time, I was also so grateful that I had turned into that drive, that I looked that direction, and that I had chosen to run my errand when all I wanted to do was curl up in my warm, comfy home.  Was this all coincidence, or are we prompted to think, speak, and/or act at times.  It seems that in so many situations, good and bad, timing is everything.  Our choices and responses are vital to outcomes.

I was also so grateful for the obvious… my healthy body and the health of my family.  I was even, in that moment, grateful that I workout… pushing this man as far as we did was not an easy task.  I’m not bragging, but I’m grateful for the strength that I’ve developed… I never would have guessed that it would be used in this way.

This situation put a lot into perspective.  I’d like to think that I will hang on to this perspective, but the sad reality is, I will get caught up and bogged down by all of the little mishaps in life, and the things that are really small will again seem big to me.  BUT, I am hopeful that moments like this, will continue to change and shape me and make a difference (even if it’s just slight) in who I am and how I choose to live.

5 of the things I am most grateful for.

11 thoughts on “A little perspective…

    • I believe in timing too. I believe seeing you last night was good timing for both of us. Stay strong Carla! Thanks for reading the blog.

  1. what an eventful day…you got a united nations going here..not to some..but you’re very kind to take a young african american male into your home as family..it say’s alot about your heart..andie..people tend to minimize the plight of young blk males..riddled with drugs and lack of family..in some cases they have fewer options than others..but you’re doing your part in bridging that gap that exist between.people…myself….by no means color blind (some are schocked..i’m a realist)..having endured personal reprehensible crimes.growing up.in the 50s/60..your efforts are encouraging..that someday we can live as one person under god..in closing…when we forget our past..rather a wound or love.. it will stick with you forever..thanks andie..andie..for disclosing more about chew!!!let me meet the little Arican American bro..he needs to know a little about his roots!!lol

    • I think you are right Rita. I really think things happen for a reason and that we are prompted to do things at times and don’t realize until later what the true purpose really was. Thanks for reading the post!

  2. Excellent reminders. Sometimes I intentionally take my list of “I have to(s)…” and restate them as “I GET to…”
    It’s amazing what a little perspective can do. Thanks for sharing your experience and your heart.

    • I like the “I get to”…much better way to look at it! Thanks for reading the post and for taking time to share your thoughts with us…keep em’ comin’! 🙂

  3. Great story!! I love how life throws these little moments at us to remind us how lucky we are and to be grateful for things. I have had many of these moments! You are an awesome person to help that man!! Have a great day 🙂

    • Awww…thanks Larissa. I don’t know about the awesome part, but I sure try to be a good person and to do the “right” thing. Some days go better than others. 😉 Thanks for reading the post and taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

