First “Race” of the Season

active.com

Dear MARCIA,

Thank you for your order with Hackett Event Management. Please save a copy of this receipt for your records.

Order information

Order ID: C-077KVL8P
Date: January 20, 2012 7:56 AM CST
Item Price
The Snowmans Half Marathon / 10k / 5k – The Snowmans – Half marathon – Individual $30.00
What is your T-shirt size? – Medium $0.00

Well folks, I am all registered up!  Here goes nothing!  I have quotation marks around the word race because, well; I am allowed to do what I want!  I will use the term race loosely for now.  If I do well, then it will be a race.  If I don’t, it will be a “race”.  🙂   It should be fun.  A fun little road trip for Andi and me.   The “fun” part (ha) will be going with the flow of what the weather will be.  Will it be freezing cold ( probably), will it be snowing? ( probably).  Will there be ice? ( probably).  IF this is the case, I will treat it like a long run.  I know.  I know.  I am totally lying.  I never go into a race actually believing I will take it easy.  Sometimes it happens that way, and when it does, I am always pissed.   Just being honest.  Nonetheless, I am signed up and will be there next weekend!
My week so far has been busy.  I taught all the usual classes and added an extra spin class today.  3 spins today.  I feel fine too. I held back in my 5:30 am class for sure.  Pushed myself for the 10am class and played it safe for the 12 noon class.  I chugged water all day because I thought I might run out of sweat by my noon class.  Luckily, that did not happen.
Good news!  I lifted twice this week!  Shocker, I know.  I participated in the Monday’s Totally Toned class and lifted yeterday on my own.  Here is what it looked like:
Plank to Shoulder Press*
Alternating Reverse Lunges
Sumo Squat Jumps*
Alternating Reverse Lunges
Plank hold
3x 10 with a 60 second plank hold.
Plank to shoulder Press ( while holding weights, get in plank position. Hold that position for 2-5 counts.  Step or jump your feet up to standing and perform a shoulder press- repeat for reps)
Sumo Jump Squats ( take a wide stance squat position. squat down and touch the floor and jump up land softly and repeat for reps)

You can turn the toes out if you want more inner thigh work (as this lady is doing).

I made it up on the spot and thoroughly enjoyed it!
Tuesday after Cardio Sculpt I had Run Camp.  Speed work.  Well, as fast as I could go on the icy pavement!  Andi and I did (4) 800 repeats.  I think I did pretty well considering.  No major breathing malfunctions.  I think it was just the cold air.  Oh, and the exertion of running fast.  Next week we will run some fun hill repeats.  Those kill.  I can’t wait.
Time to go stuff my face.  I burned about 900 + calories today.    An extra large Pizza for dinner?  I have 12 miles to run tomorrow.  I want/need the carbs!!!
Leave a Reply

