How does she do it?…

Today’s workout was a treadmill run.  The workout was a 5 min warm-up 70 min steady run (it was actually supposed to be 55 mins, but Marcia started late and then talked me in to doing more….truth be told it didn’t take much talking.), followed by a 5 min cool down.  It ended up being over 8 miles.  The first 30 mins of just about any run is hard for me.  It feels like it is dragging on and I just want to be done.  I know this about myself so I try to be patient and trust that it will get better.  Marcia was on the treadmill next to me and that always helps…It gives me someone to talk to and a good distraction.  She got off the treadmill early and ended up on the elliptical….she said something strange about feeling like she was gonna fall off the treadmill, but I’m pretty sure that was code for “I need a break from Andi’s jabbering”.  😉  We ended our workout together on the track.  It has been a LONG time since I have been on the track at the gym.  We did a quick mile and pushed hard on our last lap.  I was kicking her butt and feeling great!…then she did what she always does…she effortlessly (seemingly) passed me and I finished the last stretch desperate to catch her.  I was really close to doing it too… but then I realized the only reason I was catching her was because it was the end of our lap and she was slowing down to stop.  HA!  I don’t know how she does it (and she won’t tell me her secret either).  She’s got those powerful sprinting legs and I’m pretty fast, but without much power.  :-/  Regardless of the fact that she put me in my place (she keeps me humble), it was so much fun to run fast again.  I feel like I’ve been stuck in the “marathon shuffle” and it was great to break out and just run hard!  It was also a good reminder as to why Marcia and I rarely do our speed workouts together…we are too competitive!  We never stay at the pace our running coach recommends, because we can’t let the other win.  Haha!  Last on the agenda today, teaching TRX.

On tap for tomorrow…

6am teaching spin

Weights or TRX

watch the biggest loser online (while neglecting the kids) 😉

5pm teaching boot camp

 

Do you have someone in your life that pushes you?  If so, how has it effected your fitness endeavors?

2 thoughts on “How does she do it?…

  1. competive..understatement..i admire you both ..my generation of women didn’t have the opportunity to particpate in sports…men got a jump on you..but you caught up really fast.. thanks to women like yourself….i’m a big time supporter of women sports..having coach women basketball at the college level and girl babies that were competitors…you two phenominal..you two keep me feeling young ..proud to call you guy’s athletes….jus saying..cliffardo..

  2. Pingback: The week so far…. Food Diary. | mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

Leave a Reply

