Cardio and a bit of lower body +foam rolling

Spin at 5:30 am!  I made my profile and music late last night.  I went to bed as the CD was burning and was worried it would not burn..but it did.  Whew.  It always does, but it would just be my luck that it would mess up on me when I needed it! 🙂 After the warm up we did 5 minute intervals with a 60 second recovery.  This was done 6 times in all.  It went over well.  After class I ran 1 mile in 9:10 and then hit the weights for lower body.  It was a quick one today.  I never know how much to lift with my legs because I run and spin a lot….but I also know from past experience that I perform better   at my sports when I lift.  So here is what I did:

Super Set – 3×10

Alternating Forward Lunges

Step -Ups

I used 20# weights and I also used 6 risers on my step. This lady and I could be twins. 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

at the very end of this super set I did:

Squat Jumps ( 15 reps)

Plank hold (30 seconds)

3 times.  I felt like I should stop half way through the 2nd set!  I didn’t though because my goal was to do 3 sets.  It hurt.  Glad that’s over!   🙂

I have been foam rolling almost everyday…since Wednesday.   🙂   I am trying to make it a habit again.  I was on a roll a few months ago.  Now?  Not so much.  I know how important it is for me ( and you too!) to do this.  It’s most effective to do before your workout and if time permits after it as well.  I foamed yesterday while watching American Horror Story…do you watch?  It’s a great show.  It’s a weird one.  It’s scary and creepy and I had to start watching it during the daylight hours….it’s that bad.

Here are 2 of my favorite’s!  Well, I love to hate them anyway…..

IT Band roll

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quad and hamstring 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When you roll, make sure to stay put on those tight spots for 20-30 seconds at a time….with consistency it should get easier ( ie: less painful).  Have  fun and get rolling!

I have a long run scheduled for tomorrow  –it’s time to bust out my ski gloves. 😦 My circulation is the worst.  I am always looking for gloves that are not ski gloves, but actually keep your hands warm.

Do you foam roll?

Any suggestions on warm running gloves?

* I have tried a lot of brands with no luck, but am still searching!

Have a wonderful Friday!

 

2 thoughts on “Cardio and a bit of lower body +foam rolling

Leave a Reply

