Mom.Wife.Fitness.LIFE..update!

Mom– So glad school is back in session!   🙂 Love my kids, but they bicker too much.  I got to the point where I would tell them to knock it off and figure it out.  And if you can’t, then go to your room!  It worked for the most part.  It was fun while it lasted.  11 days off in December.  Can’t wait. 😉

Wife–  No dates or anything this past week.  I can’t remember why….  I think Matt had to work?  I don’t know…

Fitness–  I took 0 days off  last week.  Not typical for me, but sometimes it’s just necessary.  For my sanity!!  Thursday–  Kickboxing class participant.  Lot’s of fun to take part in my fellow instructors class.  Also a great way to burn some calories before the feast!  I also did a quick upper body circuit on the machines.  Friday–  5:30 am spin.  Thanks to the 4 people who showed up!  2 regulars, a brand new spinner and a man who comes to the Y every Thanksgiving!  It was a fun, hard Tabata countdown class…the last 4 minutes is a killer! I also ran 1 mile on the treadmill; just for fun.  I also lifted lower body.  I used the squat rack.   It’s been forever.  I used the bar ( 45#) to warm up with 15 reps.  I then added 20# total and did 3 sets of 12 reps. I then did 3 sets of 10 ( 30# total) of Bulgarian Split Squats -ouch! (crazy Bulgarians!)

That was it.  I felt it as I walked down the stairs of the gym.  Awesome.   Saturday– Long run.  Today’s plan was to run for 93 minutes ( plus a 5 minute warm up and cool down) in Zone 1 ( heart rate of 148-158) http://connect.garmin.com/activity/131064971   My pace was slower than last week.  I think I know why. This course was hilly.  I still ran it knowing I would have to walk fast up the hills ( as opposed to running) to keep my HR in the right range.  I was right…I had to walk probably 4 times total.  If you look at the dip in my HR on the chart you can guess I was either fueling up or walking due to a higher HR.  All in all, it was a great run.   🙂  I kept an average HR of 151.   Sunday– This is usually my day off, but I wanted to sweat.  I attempted my heart rate zone workout for the elliptical.     I failed.  That’s cool though.  My body needed a break apparently, so I stayed on the elliptical and just did my own thing.  I watched the movie Enough.  The one with J-Lo in it.  I love it.  She kicks ass.  Whenever I see a chick kicking butt, it makes me want to punch somebody something.  I think I spent 40 minutes total on the elliptical. HR average was  148-  good enough!  I wanted to lift something too.  I ended up shooting a few baskets with Matt and then doing 3 sets of 40 walking lunges and 2 sets of 10 side lunges.  Good enough!  We will call that a lower body day. 🙂 Monday–  Spin at 10.  Intervals today.  Fun class and my timing worked out really well.  I love when that happens.  I also plan on lifting upper when the kids get in bed. Matt is off playing basketball for about another hour.

Life–  I started Christmas shopping.  This is early for us.  I found a guitar for Amara.  She wants to be Taylor Swift when she grows up.  I have no idea what Miles wants. Oh, yes I do….everything!   Tough luck kid.  Thanksgiving was fun.  We stayed local this year.  I missed the homemade food and pumpkin pie ( yep, restaurant ran out…come on!), but it was nice being home and not having to travel.  We got to spend it with Matt’s parents and my dad.  We they watched the Lions lose.  That’s a huge tradition.

 

**side note:  It’s time to start thinking about your healthy goals for the New Year!  Matt and I are doing the 10 day herbal cleanse starting on Wednesday.  I don’t think I will do the full 24 Day Challenge this time, but I might use different products to see how they work for me.  ThermoPlus, Carb Ease and Fibo Trim.   If you have any questions just shoot me an email.   I  would love to help you choose Advocare products that will help you reach your goals!

I am going to have a giveaway of Advocare product soon…any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

