Weekend Update— Vacation 2011!

Saturday~ My sister in-laws and I all met up outside of our hotel in Mackinaw City for an early morning workout! Meeting at 7:15 am is usually not a big deal for me in terms of the early hour, but it’s a little different after a few glasses of wine the night before. 🙂   Fortunately, it was no big deal. Whew.     😉
We did a run/walk for about 35 minutes with a little strength training in the middle! We walked for 1 minute and then jogged for 2 minutes. It was a lot of fun to do this with my family on vacation! We went 1 mile out and turned back. ON the way back we stopped at a school and headed for the tennis courts for a quick strength training segment. Walking lunges ( 3 sets), Squat Walk ( 2 sets) Crab walk ( 2 sets) and about 3-4 core exercises. We then did a sort of fartlek run all the way back to the hotel. We all lead the pack for about 20 seconds while running at a good clip. And that completed our Saturday workout. After that we all got ready for the day.

We headed out to Mackinac Island for the day. We took a ferry-boat ride to the island. The kids loved that part. Miles did not at first, but he insists now that the ferry-boat was his favorite part of our trip! We were able to do the island hose drawn carriage guided tour of the island. It was a lot of fun, despite the loud mouths behind me in the carriage. They talked a lot during the tour and they thought they made it up to me by telling me my kids were beautiful…tell me something I don’t know lady! 😉 My kids were more behaved then those adults!

Mackinac Bridge

I was able to learn a lot of cool history and facts about the little island in the U.P ( Upper Peninsula for those not familiar with how Michigan works!) There is a 5 mile long bridge (Mackinac) that enables people to travel to the Upper Peninsula from the Lower Peninsula ( where I live). It was really amazing to go directly under the bridge. To see how BIG it and all the work that went into it. Saturday was a fun day, exhausting; but fun with family! Lots of fun, late nights, and the kids had fun – playing, swimming and playing some more! Lots of food and wine and the adults played The Dice Game into the wee hours of the night. We were sure to take lots of pics….over 400 to be exact. Lots of fun memories for all of us.

Tuckered out after a long, fun day!

Kids on the ferry....

Sunday morning we woke up and headed to breakfast ( all 14 of us). After breakfast we took more pics and then parted ways…..oh, and the kids went home with Matt’s parents!   🙂 It’s one of the perks of being potty trained ( grandma’s rule for spending the night sans parents!)

Matt and the kids

I am looking forward to getting back to a normal life…well with the kids not here, it is far from normal!  I mean, while I immensely enjoyed all the wine, pizza, famous Mackinac Island fudge, wine, Skittles and Lord knows what else!   I don’t regret a single bite!  I currently feel stuffed, happy , bloated, full and tired.  Not good, not bad, but defiantly NOT normal for me.

On tap for tomorrow:  Spin and Totally Toned + flood myself with about 4 gallons of water!         😉

Peace out Mackinac Island!

Leave a Reply

