Weekend Update ( sucky run, A.R.T, hard ass and cookies) + Monday

Weekend Update~

 Saturday.  Can I have a do over?!?!  Ugh.  12 miles.  Not all of them were running.  Oh, the humanity humidity!   I should have known it was going to be one of those runs. I left my house with exactly enough time to get to the run.  Oops, the truck is out o gas.  So I was late.  Not that late, but late nonetheless.  It was all good though, because Andi is back and she waited for me ( she owes me…. )   😉  So , the first mile.  I was wondering what the hurry was, why is Andi making me ( gun to my head) start so quickly – she knows I like to warm up.   10:02 what??!?  I thought my Garmin was off.  Andi checked hers– nope.  haha.  I swear we felt and looked faster!  Most of the path was tree lined-thanks goodness!  The humidity was so thick.  After 10 minutes we looked as if we had already run 5 miles in the rain.  It was sort of a bitch fest run as well.  Never a good sign.  With that being said; these types of craptastic runs are good for everyone every now and then.  Really.  We can’t always be awesome all the time.  Even me.  Yea, that’s right.  I’m awesome.  I said it.  Runs like this build character.  Whether this run was crappy because of the weather or due to the fact that Andi and I were just going to have a crappy run – we will never know.  Sometimes it’s nice to have a buddy on the same page as you during your less than shining moments.   We happily walked the last 3 ish miles.  We had lots to catch up on anyway.  🙂  After the run/walk I changed my drenched clothes and had my first mini A.R.T. session.  Active Release Techniques.  I have heard about this before so I was happy to be able to test it out!  My problem area was/is my IT bands.  Dr. Eric Lambert  from Discover Chiropractic Center was the practitioner.  Here is a longer explanation of what A.R.T. is.- from the website. 

Scar tissue builds up at the injury site, trapping nerves or preventing tendons, ligaments and muscles from working properly…

ART® releases the adhesions in the problem area, often allowing for an increase in range of motion, flexibility and strength while also restoring vascular circulation.

Active Release Techniques® is a proven and effective means for treating and resolving these and other soft-tissue conditions:

  • Carpal Tunnel
  • Peripheral Nerve Entrapment
  • Frozen Shoulder/Rotator Cuff Syndrome
  • Golfer’s/Tennis Elbow
  • Plantar Fasciitis
  • Neck or Back Pain/Injury
  • Runner’s Knee
  • Headaches
  • Running Injury
  • Shin Splints
  • Sciatica
  • TMJ
  • Iliotibial Band Syndrome
  • Muscle Pulls and Strains

ART® Soft Tissue Treatment is NOT massage, physiotherapy, or chiropractic care. While those procedures correct muscle and joint dysfunction, they do not necessarily address the underlying problems caused by scar tissue, which are essentially connective tissue adhesion’s. If you think you have tried it all and nothing has worked, it’s time to discover ART® Soft Tissue Treatment today!

Sound good?  It was!  At some points it was a bit uncomfortable, but that is expected – my IT bands are tight!  They felt really good afterwards though.  I could really tell they were looser even after only 1 mini session.  The next day ( Sunday), both sides were sore.  It was not from running.   I was to expect this as well.  I would love to continue with this and possible get Matt to go as well for his plantar fasciitis.  If you have a chronic soft tissue issue I would recommend trying A.R.T.

Sunday~  I  did a whole bunch of nothing today.  Not really, I was actually busy all day doing everything but exercising.  That is until the kids went to bed and Matt went fishing. * sidenote-  I don’t enjoy working out in front of Matt.  It’s weird. I can workout with him, but not in front of him by myself. *  Moving on.  I made use of my “alone time” ha, and used my OnDemand option on my cable.  It’s all free.  I went to exercise tv and scrolled around.  What did I find  you ask?  The Butt Bible.  Ha.  I think the name caught my attention and it was only 20 minutes long.  I did Level 1.  It hurt.  There were no weights at all either.  It was mostly old school stuff.  Squats, lunges, bridges and leg lifts.  Over and over and over for about 20 minutes.  That’s all it takes.  It did not seem that bad.  Until this afternoon!  Ouch.  I was reminded that I worked my rear end.  The instructor Pauline Nordine.  She is a fitness model.  She looks awesome.  I also think that they try to soften the look of her butt for the cover of The Butt Bible.  I think they use her butt, but Photoshop it for softness, because some people might not appreciate the look of a hard ass.  I do. I wish they left it alone! It will probably sell more copies now?? I don’t know.  Oh well.  She rocks.  She kept saying things ( in her accent- not sure where she is from) “make love to the butt”  umm, not sure she knows what that means in the states…  but it was funny.  She also would say “crack the nuts!”  After that ( Matt was still gone fishin’) I did a 10 minute foam roller workout.  It was mainly foam rolling and some added strength training to it.  Very minimal, but it made me foam roll -OUCH.  After that..yup I did more!  I did a 10 minute standing ab routine called – Defined dancers Abs.   It was OK.  I loathe working out my abs, so I am not sure what I would consider a great ab workout ( liposuction!?!?!).  So, not too bad considering I was not going to do any exercise today.

I did make time for some no bake cookies.  I have never made them before.  I think they turned out good.  They have a lot of sugar in them though!  I love sugar, but this may be too much for me!   I want to try again, but with less sugar or an alternative that does not require bananas.  Help!

Monday~ Spin at 10.  Strength day.  Big straight forward hills today.  There were 3 sets.  (2) 11 minute hills and (1) 12 minute climb.  Maybe this is why my butt hurt and not from the Butt Bible!?!?!  Probably a combo of the 2.  Totally Toned was at noon.  The two ladies that showed up, did a great job!    I would really love to run today.  Just a few miles, but I don’t think that will happen.  But, no fear – some friends and I are hitting up hot yoga at 7:30 pm!

On tap for Tuesday:  Bike?  Run.

Goals for the rest of the week:

Well, I have no idea!     🙂

 

Leave a Reply

