Weekend Update ( minus a race report).

Friday– so it’s not technically the weekend, but it’s the start of the weekend so close enough!   man, it was difficult getting up at 4:25 am today!  I have been out of commission from my spin class for 3 weeks in a row!  It was nice to see them all though.   I taught on the bike, but scaled it waaay back.  As in I think my heart rate was in recovery mode for 95% of the class.  That was my plan.  So I am glad I held back.  I repeated my Tabata class from Wednesday.

Totally Toned Core Concentration was at noon.  Lots of core ( as the title of the class suggests).  I actually can’t remember what I did because it was a whole 2 days ago.  Whatever it was, I am sure it was fabulous. 😉

After Miles woke up from his nap we all headed over to Gazelle Sports so I could sign up for the Tri Del Sol Duathlon.   No line!  Score!  I had warned the kids of the long line and there wasn’t one.

I spent the rest of the night procrastinating getting my stuff together for my 4:30 am wake up call ( not again!!!)   Another early morning for me.  I think I was sleeping before midnight, but vaguely remember Miles waking up asking if he could sleep in my bed with me. No way dude.  Go get in your own bed!   I was up on time and did the normal things to get ready for a race….I even foam rolled for a good 5 minutes.  I will post the rest of the recap tomorrow when I have time!   🙂

Sunday (today)~ I woke up feeling not as sore as I expected.  Great!!  This is partly do ( I am sure ) to how I fueled myself before, during and after the race.  The other fact is that I did not push my body to the point that I usually do during an actual race.  But, whatever the reason I was happy to be able to walk like a normal person today!

I had plans of going to the gym and lifting weights today, but rethought it and I did not do that.  Instead, we went to the gym and I did cardio and core.  I almost stayed home and took a nap, but I am glad I went and busted out some sweat.  Here is what I did today:

Elliptical HIIT( High Intensity Interval Training) intervals –

Warm up for 5 minutes

HIIT

cross ramp – 9

resistance 11

15 seconds on 15 seconds off  x6

steady state on the ellip for 5 minutes

cross ramp -8

resistance -5

HIIT intervals

cross ramp -10

resistance – 12

15 seconds on 15 seconds off  x6

steady state for 17 minutes

cross ramp – 9

resistance – 6

I then walked on a 4%  incline on the treadmill with a speed of 4.0 for about 10 minutes.

Bosu Ball

Core work- 

basic crunch on stability ball – 25

ball plank hold – 30 sec.

2x

Bosu side plank hold 30 seconds each side

2x

Stretched for about 5 minutes and that is that!

Goals for the coming week:

Monday:  Full Body Weights/Spin/Totally Toned

Tuesday:  Hot Yoga/Run

Wednesday: Cardio Sculpt/ Spin/PiYo

Thursday: Bike/Run/Hot Yoga?

Friday: Spin/Core

Saturday: Run

I am finding it hard to fit in everything…story of my life!  I hope everyone has a great week!   🙂

Leave a Reply

