Feeling a little domestic today…don’t worry, it won’t last!

Friday!

5:30 am spin class.  I repeated the interval class from Wednesday.  I held back today.  I have to conserve my energy for my lonesome run in the morning ( I hope I actually go through with it ).  After class I refrained from my usual 15 minutes on the elliptical and opted to only do some core today.   I did about 10 to 12 minutes of straight core.  That is pretty huge for me.  Thanks.

I can’t remember everything, but I did planks ( knee drops, diagonal knees, leg lifts, arm raises, knee hovers) for 2 minutes.  Ouch.

Hip circles with leg lifts.  Crunches.  Plank Ups ( side plank with a hip lift).  Lower back stuff and a few more things I cannot for the life of me remember at this moment.   I plan on foam rolling before bed and try to again before I run in the morning too.

I was (still am) so tired today, but Miles wanted to play instead of watch me nap for some reason.  Crazy kid.

I was too awake to sleep when he took a nap ( naturally).  I made some chocolate chip cookies and started on dinner during his nap.  I made the chickpea chocolate chip cookies from Jessica Seinfeld’s cookbook Deceptively Delicious.  I have made them once before and they are really good.

Here is the recipe and directions:

nonstick cooking spray

1 c firmly packed brown sugar

3/4 c trans fat-free soft tub margarine

2 large egg whites

2 tsp pure

vanilla extract
2 cup ap flour
1/2 cup oats
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350. Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray.
2. In a large mixing bowl, or the bowl of an electric mixer, beat the sugar and margarine with a wooden spoon or on medium speed until smooth. Beat in the egg whites and vanilla, then the chickpeas and chocolate chips. Add the flour, oats, baking soda, and salt, and mix on low speed until a thick dough forms.
3. Drop the dough by the tablespoonful onto the baking sheet, spacing the cookies about 2 inches apart. Press gently with a fork to flatten. Bake until the cookies are golden brown and just set, 11 – 13 minutes; do not overbake. Transfer to a rack to cool.
4. Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.
The only thing I did differently was to use 1 cup pf whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all-purpose flour.  I also ran out of chocolate chips so I frantically ran to the neighbor’s house to get some chips (thanks Chrissy!)  used 1 cup of chocolate and peanut butter chips to the mix.  The first time I made them I used the large mixing bowl with beaters.  It mashed up the chickpeas.  This time I used a wooden spoon and they stayed whole.  I am fine with this, but I am not sure the kids will be ( they still don’t know I made them..saving them for tomorrow..unless Matt eats them all).  Although they just look like the peanut butter chips…..
Dinner was turkey meatballs ( lots of garlic, spinach, cheddar cheese and sea salt), roasted cauliflower,  krispy kale, and couscous.   I was buzzing off of 1beer I drank at noon like a domestic goddess today if I do say so myself.  I actually love to cook.   I hate cleaning up though.  Hate it.  I make a big mess whenever I cook because I cook kind of like my brain works — scattered.  The food usually turns out fine though…usually.   Miles ate everything today.  He has  definitely taken a turn for the better with meals.  He reluctantly tried the cauliflower and immediately asked for more and for me to make it again tomorrow.  Stinker!
I made the kale chips 3 times last week.  The kids love it.  Matt seemed a bit bummed when he found out I made it, and the kids ate it up before he got any!  I made 2 batches today and this time I almost missed out.  I still can’t believe how much the kids love this stuff.  I was curious about the health benefits of this stuff.  It has LOTS.  The one that stands out the most is the cancer lowering benefits.  Here is a nice article on kale if you care to read.  I shouldn’t be surprised on the health benefits; it is a vegetable after all!

We have a busy day tomorrow.  Amara has her first ever dance recital.  I spent a few hours ( for real) trying to tame her out of control hair.  I am not sure I actually did anything to make it better though

Washed, detangeld and air dried.....it takes at least 3 hours to dry.

I have to go to the neighbor’s house so she can apply Amara’s makeup.  Chrissy saves the day again! I have mentioned her before on my blog, but go take a peek at her blog and her fabulous Etsy shop -Simply Created.  Girl has talent! 🙂

on tap for Saturday:  Run!!!!
Do you like beer? Yes, I do.   What beer or any other adult beverage reminds you of summer?

Summer!

Leave a Reply

