Monday Night Sweat Fest

Monday Night~  X Fit Couples!!  Tonight’s class was the most difficult so far.  I normally don’t eat a full dinner before going to class, but for some stupid reason I did tonight.  I think I must have been really hungry.  By the time class started I could still feel the food sloshing around in my stomach.  Awesome.   We warmed up on the track with a few laps as well as push ups, walking lunges and jumping jacks.   We then headed back to the Human Performance Lab for the real work to begin.  We did 3 sets of 1  minute long exercises with a 30 second recovery between sets.  Between each completed set we were granted a 2 minute rest before beginning a whole new batch of exercises.  It was hard.  It was 82 degrees in the room for most of the session until the air kicked on.  My legs were already fatigued from the 10 am spin class.  My stomach was full of dinner.  I still pushed myself, but not as hard as I would have liked.  I never eat that much so close to exercising.  I was done eating about 1.5 hours before.  I can eat a full meal safely 2-3 hours before and be fine.  Duh!

This class is great.  I wish I cold take it 2 or 3 times a week.  Kind of.  At least 2 times would be awesome.   It forces me to work to my potential – I love the group aspect while training hard.  It’s also nice to have Matt there too.  He likes these functional workouts better ( me too)then standard weight lifting ( ie: biceps curls, chest press and so on).  If we had a place to exercise in our home ( comfortably and safely!) I would invest in something like Insanity or the new Insanity Asylum!  I watch those infomercials every time I see them ( about 2 times a week).    I would not be able to do this everyday ( have you seen my schedule??!?!), but I think adding 1 – 2 days a week of an Insanity style workout would be insane awesome.

Some of the exercises included:

Push up jacks ( aka: DEATH), plank holds, switch kicks, frog jumps, 180* squats and ski hops.  All in all it was a great cardio workout with body weight training and core included to make it a well round workout.  1 goal knocked off the list for this week  Or should I say 2??

I foam rolled last night for 30 minutes!  Finally.   It was not as bad as I thought it would be.  I rolled while watching The Bachelorette.  I love this stupid show.  I love that I can watch the DVR version so I can fast forward the embarrassing parts ( which usually equals at least 1/2 of the show).  I foam rolled more than just my IT bands and quads this time.  I had the time so why not.  I rolled my upper back and shoulders and my glutes.  Ahhhh!

On tap for later:  Cardio sculpt and running.

Do you have Insanity?  Thoughts?

Do you watch The Bachelorette or any other embarrassing reality show? 

* I am seeing my allergist on June 14.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Monday Night Sweat Fest

  1. I do have Insanity & LOVE it! But when I did it as prescribed, I gained weight. It was nuts! But they are great for a change of cardio!!!

    • Oh ok..there is no way I could do it as prescribed. Well, I guess there is a way, but there is no way I would do it 6 days a week? Or 3 for that matter. ha ha! 😉 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

