Saturday biking and running

Saturday ~  Road bike training has begun!  Ugh.  I hate to say ugh, but I just did!  It’s not my favorite thing to do, but I do it anyway!  It’s fun, but I have a hard time being competitive at it.  I really don’t know why.  OK, maybe I do. I think in my mind I think I should be a better cyclist than I really am.  If that makes sense.  I have been a faux cyclist ( spin instructor for about 8 years now), and just took up outdoor biking about 3 years ago for fun, but got into duathlons along the way as well.  I have a hard time going fast on the bike when I am training.  I do OK during the races, but I am more of a middle of the packer ( like towards the end of the middle to be exact!).   I have borrowed many a road bike over the 3 year span of my career ( ha).  I am happy to say that I am now a grateful and proud owner of my very own road bike. I hope having my own bike will give me more confidence and practice on becoming a stronger cyclist. In 3 years I have used 3 different bikes ( they were all GIANTS though I just realized), that had different gears, different heights and feel etc. It will be nice to have the same bike now for consistency- oh and that it’s MINE!!!

Female version of the bike I will be getting. 🙂

It’s not in my possession just yet, but it is the male version of the beauty I used for the duathlon at the beginning of the month.  I have no idea how old it is, but it’s a good bike and the owner treaded it with care.  I can’t wait to get my hands on it!   So anyway, on Saturday Andi and I met about 30 minutes before we were scheduled to run to get a quick 6 miles in on the bikes ( the du bike I used).  It was a beautiful morning and the bike ride went well.  It was totally leisurely and we were just practicing shifting the gears and such.  Maybe next time we should hit some hills so we have a reason to shift! After the bike ride we went for an 8 mile run.

The air was thick again.  My lungs noticed right away.  The first 2 miles I was slightly winded, as well as the next 2 miles!  Oh well.  I hope to now see the allergists before I see the speech lady.  I am noticing my lungs are misbehaving as well as my vocal cords.  I am a mess.  😉

We kept a steady 9:25 minute pace.  I won’t lie.  I wish is was faster.  I just don’t think I had it in me.  I think it was the weather, but there s no telling if that was the only reason.  My legs did not feel particularly tired either.  I will most likely take the day off from planned exercise today.  I will keep it low-key.  We might take a walk if the rain stays away, and I have yet to foam roll.

On tap for Monday:  Spin, Totally Toned and X Fit Couples.

Stop on over to my FB page!

Leave a Reply

