25k! The good, the bad and the UGLY!!!!

The short version:

I obtained one of my three goals for this race today:

1.  To finish (did that)

2. To better last years time ( not even close)

3. To not have any breathing issues ( see #2)

I knew going into mile 3 ish that I would not be having the kind of race I wanted.  Besides the thick humidity, I just was not feeling it. I was OK with that.  Really, I was.  I was just happy to be apart of this race again.  It was around mile 7 that I was pretty sure I was going to either pull out of the race or just suffer though miserably.  Luckily, I saw JB…..a new running and spinning friend.  She saved my life.  No kidding.  More on that tomorrow. We ran the rest of the race together.  My finish time was 2:38 and some change.  This was my slowest time ever for this race. I am OK with that at well.  This race was full of all sorts of crazy emotions.  I was by far humbled and yet, happy and grateful all at the same time.

On a happier note.  My almost 7 year old had  PR in her 5k!  She ran over 7 minutes faster than last years effort.  She got her goal: to not walk!  Matt said she kept a great pace and a great attitude.  She was the 2nd youngest female finisher!  So proud of her! She is already talking about running another 5k in the summer!

I will give a lengthier race report tomorrow.  šŸ™‚

She was happy to hear her nickname being called out by the spectators!

Leave a Reply

