Thursday Light

Thursday~  I dragged myself to the gym today.  Before I left home, I foam rolled.  I am getting good at this painful routine.  It still hurts.  I took the elliptical for a whirl for about 30 minutes in my recovery HR zone.  I might have even been blow that zone.  I lifted upper body after that.  Really light weights.

3 x 12:

Lat pull down – underhand grip

Chest Press machine

Shoulder Press

Triceps Ext.

Short and sweet.  I think I still lifted today ( even though I have a race on Saturday), because I keep making Race Day an excuse to not lift.  It’s race season for me, so that means I won’t get into a routine with weights if I keep taking days off from the weights because I have a race!  So, this way I feel I did something; as minor was it may be.  So be it.  I got my lift on!  I even stretched for a whole 15 minutes on my own.  I did basic stretches along with some yoga moves as well.  It felt great, but MAN am I stiff.  So far there is still an 80% chance of rain for the race on Saturday.  Matt and Amara will race at 7:30 am and I take off at 8:20 am.  I am looking forward to it.  I still have to come up with a few concrete goals before the race.  I need a playlist too.  I also need to figure out what I am going to wear.  I have an idea, but I am sure I am going to chafe under my armpits.  Always a good thing to get in the hot shower and then have your pits stinging.  But it’s to support my running club!  I will race in the ill-fitting XL Run Gr tank top dangit!  I am sure my usual size would have been too tight on Amara.  Yep.  They run really small!

I took in a few more starchy calories today as well.  This week Paleo was going well, until I threw in some wheat crackers ( delicious by the way) and the burrito I had tonight for dinner.  Ok, it was for my 2nd dinner.  My first dinner was spaghetti squash and  I was starving a few hours later ( it was an early dinner for us.) I should be good to go.

I have a few procrastinations last minute race preparations/errands to get done tomorrow.  Andi and I will head to the race expo tomorrow, late afternoon.  That’s when I start to get excited/nervous.

On tap for Friday:  Spin ( teaching off the bike), foam roll, light walk/jog on treadmill and stretch!

I have been running this 25k race since 2005.   Well, I went down to the 5k in 2007 since I was pregnant with Miles!  I am looking forward to running this for the next 6th years and beyond!  It’s the biggest 25k in North America.  Grand Rapids is the place to be! 🙂

My first 25k in 2005!

Leave a Reply

