Grocery Shopping…..

Well, I think Amara is on the mend!  She has been sleeping for the past 2 hours and had about 8-10 oz. of apple juice that stayed put!  Poor thing. And poor Miles.  He has been trying SO very hard to not be so loud while she sleeps.  It’s a struggle, but he did pretty good.

I was at the grocery store the other day, in the peanut butter isle.  I saw Jif Natural was on sale 3 for $5.  I swear I picked it up and the ingredients said peanuts and salt. I guess I looked at the wrong one.  The Jif Natural I bought had added sugar, oil and molasses.  Ooops!  Both Miles and Amara noticed a difference in taste right away.  Miles asked if it was the peanut butter with chocolate in it.  He then told me that he wanted his old peanut butter back!  The kind I normally get has 1 ingredient: peanuts!  *( Side story- when Amara was 2 she was at my dad’s eating and she thought that he put chocolate on her sandwich.  It was just the regular peanut butter, not natural.  I was laughing for days because she did not believe me). I think that since we started the kids eating this way they are used to it.  The yogurt they eat has less sugar then the usual brands.  Amara used to think she was missing out until she tried a Go-Gurt.  She could not even finish it; she said it was too sweet!

So anyway..I bring this up because a blog I frequent Mama Notes brought up the subject of healthy eating and going broke. I think I ranted about this the other day?!?!  Matt and I decided a long time ago that we would not skimp on the healthy groceries for our family.  Yes, we are broke because of it, but we think it’s worth it.  I don’t judge others for the food choices they make or for their reasoning.  We all do what we can.  We buy organic produce whenever possible, eggs, organic milk and yogurt.  Natural peanut butter and organic boxed and canned foods as well.  We agree that the less processed and added chemicals the better.  I also think that Matt’s mom scared me when she told me stories of young girls( think 5 and 6 year olds) getting periods and needing a bra- mostly linked to diet!!!  Is this true?  I sure don’t want to find out!!  😉 So anyway, we do the best we can. I mean, Miles only eats carrots and green beans for veggies. He is not a fan of meat; only on his terms. He is happy with a whole wheat sandwich on natural peanut butter and organic strawberry jam. Throw in about 5 cups of fruit and he has had the best day ever! Amara is more adventurous with her foods. She will try almost anything, but likes roasted veggies, coconut flavor and all things nut butter ( just like me!) We all like the taste of junk food. We are human. We eat it and we like it. We strive for balance and hope that the message is clear to our kids.

Do you buy organic?  Do you have a grocery budget? we kind of do…. I try to low ball it, knowing I will most likely make another trip in 4 days to restock the fresh stuff.

 

 

Leave a Reply

