10 miles……..

Today’s run was to be progressive.  It was actually supposed to go something like this: First 4 miles easy pace and last 6 at race pace.  I have some sort of mental block when it comes to running at my race pace during training.  I have no idea what my race pace is ( for a half marathon).  I am not a great pacer even when I know what my pace should be.  I have the Garmin for all the wrong reasons ( it’s pretty (pink) ).  😉  I pretty much don’t like to set myself up for failure.  I don’t want to admit to a specific goal pace in case I can’t meet it.  It’s purely mental and a horrible excuse.  One that I will continue to use for years to come.  There’s no use in pretending now is there?!? So the goals I made for myself was to run all 10 miles faster than 10 minutes apiece.  Check.  I also wanted to run my last 6 miles faster than my first 4.  Check.  Success!  ( See how that works???) .  Here is the play – by-play of the run:

Mile 1~ 9:37   As usual I am out of breath during the first few miles.  It never messes with my mental state though, I know it will get better!

Mile2~9:52   Still out of breath.

Mile 3~9:47   Things feel good here, except I have to take a leak.

Mile 4~ 9:55   Stopped to use the restroom.  Still made it under 10 minutes…whew!

Mile 5~ 9:28  Andi and I are silently thinking about speeding up our run.  We don’t really discuss it, but we pretty much share a brain.

Mile 6~ 9:03   I am feeling pretty good still.

Mile 7~8:56   Very excited that we have about a 5k left to run!

Mile 8~9:05   Dang.  My other secret goal was to get under 9:00 pace for the last 3 miles. We encountered some hills here.  Yeah, that’s it. :8)

Mile 9~8:45   We actually sprinted up this darn hill to avoid another 9 minute mile!  Who cares if we stopped at the top?!?!

Mile 10~8:23 Done.  Great finish!

I felt strong towards the end of this run.  I was telling Andi that I tend to like the last part of the long run better than the beginning and middle.  It must take me a bit to warm up or something?!?

Not Paleo friendly!

After running we headed over to Starbucks for a nice recovery drink of hot chocolate!  Oh, and a veggie and egg and cheese breakfast sandwich.  They both hit the spot.  Andi brought the Paleo books so we could read and discuss.  We did discuss all the things we won’t be able to eat during the plan..such as the tasty breakfast sandwich we both scarfed down!!  Well, we can eat the eggs and veggies on it, just no bread ( gasp) or cheese!!  Oh well, we are both ready for the experiment to begin!  I think I will actually take a nap today.  Big plans tonight so I must get my rest if I intend on staying out after dark!

On tap for tomorrow:  Rest day most likely.

4 thoughts on “10 miles……..

  1. Great post on your training – I’m signed up for the Disneyland Half Marathon in September so I need all the inspiration I can get!

Leave a Reply

