Spin #2 and “diet” talk.

I think I did this correctly…Amara is the one in the pink! Choo Choo!

My second spin class of the day was at Noon.  I was so tired going into this, but that did not last long.  Whew!  Today’s class was interval style, with some big hills and moments of speed.  I think that was the same explanation I gave the other day for a different class, but it was a totally different class…I swear!

So Andi took back her Paleo books to see what all the fuss is about.  I think she is freaked out.  😉  .  It’s a lot to comprehend when your brain (mine too) is constantly cluttered.  She has 5 kids– enough said!  I think she and I will plan an afternoon or evening to come up with a plan of action and then dive right in.  I think we might try to give it the full 30 days and see what happens.  That should give us plenty of time to see if  we like it, if we are getting the results we are looking for and if it seems doable.  I hope the answer is yes to all!  I have such a hard time trying to figure out what to eat, when and where ( ha) while training for endurance sports.  I just eat what I want ( not really, but you know what I mean) and hope for the best!  Actually, as I have gotten older and wiser I might add, I want to eat for performance and not so much for vanity purposes.  With that being said, I know that eating for performance will in fact make me look better, fitter and like an athlete should, so there is no getting around that vanity issue! I don’t diet.  I don’t jump from new diet to new diet.  I do read about the latest and greatest “thing” out there.  I like to know what people are doing (I’m nosy).  As a fitness professional, I like to be able to answer questions from peers and family members instead of saying ” I don’t know” to all the questions about new diets etc.  I like to be able to give them my honest opinions even though I have not “gone on the diet”.  I read the books and the methods and perhaps look at the recipes and/or exercises etc. and base my opinion on that. Trust me, if I was on any of the eating plans that are popular I would be at least 20 lbs lighter ( not a good thing) and would be weak and frail.  That is not the look I am going for.  It never has been.  Strong like BULL.  I am a Taurus so it only makes sense.

Taurus Zodiac Sign- this may or may not be what part of my tattoo looks like....

On tap for tomorrow: Running!

 

2 thoughts on “Spin #2 and “diet” talk.

  1. Hi Marcia,
    I “eat clean” or at least try to. I’ve been eating clean for a couple of years now- the lady who “owns” it is Tosca Reno. She’s a bodybuilder so she recommends lots of ways to eat for performance. I just try to avoid processed foods. I eat about 300 calories, six times a day. When I’m in heavy training then I don’t worry if I eat a little more. My weight has been creeping up since about November though, and I was just thinking about trying to lose 5lbs. It’s not going to be easy though. 😦 I hate going into workouts not feeling well fueled, but that’s sort of what I have to do to lose weight these days.

    • I am familiar with Tosca! My boss and I were talking about her yummy recipes today. Ugh, I hear ya though. I try to do that ( calorie count), but I never stick to it!! I think it’s harder now since we are older ( gasp!!), but I can’t afford to go to a sports nutritionist at this time, so I have to try and figure stuff out on my own. I think it’s the hardest trying to get lean while In Season and trying to keep your strength. It’s very hard to find that balance…maybe some day, right?!?! 😉

Leave a Reply

