5k Heart and Sole Race Recap

Today was the Heart and Sole 5k Race.  While it might have been my slowest 5k in history ( not including running a 5k while pregnant), I am not unhappy with the results.  Even after I woke up this morning at 6:10 AM, I was trying to talk myself out of even going.  I wanted to go back to bed.  I got over it and got myself ready.  I arrived a bit early since I still had to register.  It sure was windy this morning too with a wind chill of 16 degrees.  Awesome. I love dislike running in the wind and cold let alone racing in it.  Oh well, good thing I am not a control freak or I would have definitely stayed home.  This race begins and ends on a hill.  I kept telling myself that it was a great challenge to add this, but in reality I think it’s kind of stupid annoying.  Don’t worry when the race director came around asking questions I did not tell him about this annoyance, I am pretty sure he thinks it pretty awesome.  The race also starts indoors.  It was funny to see all of the GPS users trying to find satellite connections.  We are such nerds.  Unfortunately, my satellite did not connect until at least 20-40 seconds into the race, so of course I had no idea what was going on.  I love my Garmin – it’s so smart and I am lost without it!  Sad, but true.    My splits are not accurate, but not much I can do about that.

Mile 1~  8:47 –  I found out during this first mile that I was sure I was not going to run less than an 8 minute mile.

Mile 2~ 8:18 –  I felt quite comfortable here; not the way you should describe how you feel during a 5k race!

Mile 3~ 8:11- The race had some hills at the end, so I am fine with this split.

Negative splits! Ha ha!  I had a few issues going on today.  The breathing was the main culprit.  I got scared.  But instead of stopping and freaking out I just slowed down.  I made it out alive so it was a good race!  One pro to slowing down my pace was I was able to (unknowingly until the end) help along a fellow RunGr member.  She was hot on my tail and she later told me I really helped to push her to run a good race- she even got a medal!  😉  I told her that she helped me too, because I felt someone hot on my tail and she pushed me because I do not like getting passed!

My Race Shirt!

My race results broken down:

Chip Time: 25:43

Overall Place: 84/230

Gender Place:  22/121

Division Place:  5/25

Pace:  8:18

Broken down this way I did not do bad at all!  I love to place in the Top 3, but hey;  top 5 is not so bad! 😉

(not my medal!)

8 thoughts on “5k Heart and Sole Race Recap

  1. Sorry you’re having breathing issues. ;( boo. Good job even though it isn’t your best! Good for you for getting out there even if you didn’t feel like it. And seriously, get one of those bras! They are so awesome. I love it.

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter Butt « mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

  3. Pingback: Running towards the Polish Donut………. « mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

Leave a Reply

