Chug, chug – pillow fight!

I am hoping my water logging comes in handy today. I am trying to prepare for tonight’s long spin class in hopes that flooding my system with water all day will ensure that I don’t stop sweating part way into class.  I have had water, tea, and grapefruit so far.  I have about 4.75 hours until class starts and I plan on  guzzling a lot more liquid up until then and during class of course.

I made a tea concoction today.  I got the recipe from this month’s issue of Women’s Running magazine.  I have a sort of fitness magazine addiction. They basically tell you the same information, but it’s an addiction, so I need to read it over and over again.


The recipe was Tealicious Pepermint Cocoa.  It actually did not sound all that great to me, but it only has 5 ingrediants that I had on hand so why not?

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 peppermint tea bag

1 tbs. unsweetened cocoa

1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

Liquid stevia or other low- cal sweetener.

Pour almond milk in a mug and microwave for 1 minute.  Drop in tea bag and allow to steep for 2 minutes.  Remove bag.  Stir in cocoa and vanilla.  Add a few drops of liquid stevia or other sweetener to taste.

OK.  So I mostly followed the instructions.  I only had original flavored almond milk not unsweetened.  I also had Truvia not liquid stevia.

It turned out OK . I wanted it to be better.  The one thing that I have found that never works ( for me) is putting cocoa in liquid and expecting it to dissolve thoroughly.. never happens.  I was left with chunks and balls of cocoa.  This would not be a problem if this was the sweetened kind of cocoa.  It was not.  I did not take a picture because I drank it and used my finger to get the rest of the cocoa out of the mug.  I did it in record speed.  I don’t like to waste.  I might try this again but make sure the cocoa is stirred well and uniform first.  I could taste the mint tea and that was good.  I will share with Amara next time too ( maybe).  She was cleaning her room when all this fun was happening.  I call her Gramdma becuase at 6 years old she requests tea with her snack ( of crumpets) at least twice a week.  🙂   I drink tea all the time ( so does her Grandma), and I find it extremely cute that she enjoys it as much as we do.

Miles is finally napping.  He does not nap well when Amara has half days.  I had to regulate once with him today when he was up and out of his bed.  He is so tired.  He is sleeping now.  Earlier, he and I had a pillow fight. He did not know what he got himself into.  I won.  He laughs too much.  He will learn soon enough that when you have too much fun during a pillow fight; you lose!  😉   He is funny.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

**Be sure to check out a great Giveaway from MissZippy.  She is hosting a giveaway from Pacific Health: $75 to spend on their site!  If you train for anything, this is a very useful prize to win.

On tap for later: 90 minute spin!  no run today.  I chose to stay in my PJ’s and dominate a 3 year old during a pillow fight!

4 thoughts on “Chug, chug – pillow fight!

  1. Love this…staying in your p.j’s and having a pillow fight…the stuff life is made of! 🙂 I am not running today either…spin for me! Hoping for a good instructor…finding that it really makes a difference! Last time it was lameo! 🙂

    • Oh yes, I remember I could not get enough water ( or food) while nursing!
      Baby B is so cute Tina! I can’t wait to see the professional pictures. The sneak peek you gave- adorable! 🙂

Leave a Reply

