Last workout of the year! I (already)registered for a race in April!

Happy New Year’s Eve!  I was up bright and earlier than necessary today.  I have been up since 3:15 am.  I woke up and could not fall back to sleep.  My alarm was set to go off at 4:15 am too.  Hate that!  I was up and out of bed before 4 am because there was just no point in lying there any longer.  It was a balmy 37 degrees at 5 am!  It was very warm!  The highway was VACANT.  I might have been the only car on the road- no joke.  It was weird.  I was waiting for some crazy psycho to jump out of my hatchback and freak me out.  The gym had a few people and I consider myself lucky that my spin class had 12 people!  Nice!  I repeated the 6 minute loop interval class from Wednesday and it was a hit.  After class the oldest gym patron ( Fred- he comes to my class every Friday) came up to me.  I think he is in his 80’s.  He wanted to know the artists of 2 songs I played.  I noticed him dancing on his bike when the songs came on so I knew exactly what songs he was referring to.  John Mayer Crossroads and  Maroon 5- Give a Little More.  He was funny!  He asked me to play these songs agin next Friday.  This won’t be a problem since I LOVE them both.  🙂

After spin I went on the elliptical for about 20 minutes in my recovery Zone 1.  After that I did some weight – less weight training.  I used the newest issue of SHAPE magazine for the workouts. The one with Brooke Burke on the cover.  The workout was pretty good.  All it used was a stability ball and a mat.  For workout click HERE.  I just noticed that the workout was called a butt workout.  It all makes sense now!  DUH and oops!  Oh well.  Everyone needs a good butt firming workout right?!?! After that I went on the treadmill to walk and watch some TV for 15 minutes or so.  I changed clothes, chatted with friends and stretched.  It was a nice way to close out my 2010 workouts!

I have some good fun news too.  I signed up for a race.  It’s not even in Michigan.  I got the early bird rate ( I ALWAYS sign up the day before and pay like $25 extra or more. Dumb.)  It’s The Glass City Marathon in Toledo OH.  There are a few people from my job at the YMCA on my case  that have been asking me to do it with them for a few weeks.  It should be a fun time.  So far I have no goals.  I have run one half marathon before and it was partly on a trail in the middle of the HOT summer!  This one will probably be cold, but that’s OK.  I just realized that it will be the day before Boston.  You know, that race that I qualified for but won’t be running?  Yep, that one!  Ommmmmm! ( that’s me letting go of negativity….)  I need to figure out my plan of action and what I want to accomplish there.  Will this race be a fun run that I will do with my friends?  Do I want to bust my butt and try for a 1:50 ish time?  Should this be a training run in preparation for the 25k in May?  I have some stuff to figure out for sure. 

13.1 Here I come!!

On tap for tomorrow: RUN!  I have a race to get ready for! 😉

 

One thought on “Last workout of the year! I (already)registered for a race in April!

  1. Pingback: Goals ( I need some), a day off and my new schedule. « mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

Leave a Reply

