Tuesday– Race day, gym rat and “me time”

Tuesday~ It was a little weird different getting ready for work without having to get the kids ready too.  I think I missed them!  I know I did.  Those crazy kids really grow on ya!  😉

Spin today. It was race day!  Woohoo!  I planned a time trial of sorts today.  After the 7 minute warm up we did a 7 minute time trial 4 times total.  Every – time the class was to work a little bit harder than the last.  I think it was fun!  I have never done this before so it was kind of fun to coach this type of class.  We only climbed for about 3 minute of each 7 minute loop.  They were stong and powerful climbs though.  I was told ot try to keep my HR in my Zone 4 for 10 consecutive minutes 1-2 times a week.  I did it today!  My average HR was 158 and my goal was to keep itbetween 157-160.  Whew…….  According to the bike computer we raced 14.25 miles.  This is significant because my non – race day spins usually average out to be 13 miles.  So we were cooking today!   After Spin ( since I had no kids to rush home and make lunch for….  ) I went on the elliptical for a very easy 35 minutes.  It was basically “catch up” time with my gym friends!  It was nice.  It was nice not to have to go home yet. I think I did not want to go home to an empty house!  😦   They will be back tomorrow though, so I better enjoy it while it lasts!   After the elliptical I tried to talk myself out of lifting weights, but after a half hour of that ( more catch up time with gym friends) I changed into dry clothes and did a quick circuit. 

I changed things up a bit finally.  4 sets of 8 reps:

Biceps curl

deadlifts

lat pull down

front squats

 

Dumbbell Front Squat-- I used (2) 20 lbs. weights and was out of breath after doing 8 reps!

up right rows

I should have fit push ups in there somewhere, but I did not think about it until it was too late.  I will incorporate chest on Friday when I lift.  I actually lifted heavier than I have in a while so I should feel that in the morning. ( Yay!)

After the gym ( I was there for a total of 3.5 hours– lots of talking today!) I ran some errands and then went to he movies with Matt ( no kids!- do  keep saying this???)  We saw The Fighter with Mark Whalberg and Christian Bale.  It was really good!!  2 thumbs up ( and a circle). 

On tap for tomorrow:  Run in the AM, teach spin at noon.  🙂  

Have you seen any good movies at the theatre lately? 

How do you spend your “me time?”

One thought on “Tuesday– Race day, gym rat and “me time”

  1. Pingback: Tuesday (again). « mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

Leave a Reply

