Active Recovery, busted furnace (jerk) and my dream race (nope, it’s not Boston!)

Recovery day for me today.  Much needed too!  I spent one hour at the gym doing very low intensity cardio.  My heart rate average was 126!  That is not a lot of effort.  I was on the elliptical for 45 minutes and on the treadmill for 15 minutes.  I was able to read the latest Runner’s World magazine-it’s all about motivation and finding it or how to get it back etc.  I hope it works! 

I really want to run strong again and I really want to feel like wanting to run again.  It’s been a while since I have consistently stuck to running.  Running is supposed to be my “thing”.  I keep saying I will be back at it in January and that 2011 will be my year.  I still want it to be, but can’t help having doubts.  Doubts be gone! ( that was me yelling at my doubts).  One race I really want to do is The Bayshore Marathon.  It’s at the end of May this year.  I ran the 10k last year ( 51:54 /second race since knowing I had vocal cord dysfunction ).  It was a fun race and I had no breathing issues.  This year I would like to run the 1/2 marathon though.  Sign ups being Dec. 1 and it fills up FAST!  I would love to hop on-line on the first and secure my spot, but one major problem:  Our furnace frickin’ blew up on Friday morning!  It’s going to cost a lot of money and unless I scrape up enough loose change in the sofa cushions — I don’t see how I am going to be able to sign up on the first.  Awesome.   Last year’s experience was a

Dream stealer! 🙂

blast– lots of friends, fun and even a party afterwards on a lake!  I watched many friends qualify for Boston at this race.  I also witnessed many friends not do so well — the weather was unexpectently warm and humid.  Most were not prepared for this.  That is what makes Michigan well, Michigan.  We have crazy weather!
 The cool part about next year’s race?  I have about 5 more friends planning on doing the half as well!  I suppose I can do the 10k again or even just go and cheer on my buddies.  Scratch that– I want to run!!  Perhaps I will wake up tomorrow and a new furnace will be installed; free of charge…it could happen!

The Bayshore Marathon has BEAUTIFUL scenery!

3 thoughts on “Active Recovery, busted furnace (jerk) and my dream race (nope, it’s not Boston!)

  1. Pingback: Snow. Cold. Yoga. Hot. « mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

  2. Pingback: mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

  3. Pingback: Mommy guilt? Nah…..at least I don’t think so. « mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

Leave a Reply

