Power Spin ( barf bag please)!!!!!!!!!!

Today was power spin at the gym.  I was a participant so I was really able to FOCUS on my own workout.  I love that.  I love being an instructor, but it can prove to be difficult to meet my personal goals.  I always jump at the chance to do my own thing when the opportunity presents itself.  Today I used my “old” numbers for my goals for spin class( more on that later!)  Today’s class was all about endurance!  Fat burning at it’s finest.   I tried to keep my heart rate between 145 and 155 for the duration.  My average ended up being 148 I believe.  Not too shabby.  It was a great class.  I almost needed a barf bag at the end and I will tell ya why.  The instructor had us come out of the endurance pace for the last 5-7 minutes or so and we did several speed bursts with heavy resistance.  The intervals were 3o seconds hard, 30 seconds easy.  I really pushed myself during this part, especially the last 2 intervals.  I was able to get my HR up to 165 during the last part of class.  After those tough intervals we were told to take it back to endurance pace-no recovering just yet.  This is when I had the feeling of a barf coming on.  I thought for sure I was going to hurl!  Thank goodness after my HR stabilized in about 1 minute or so I was better ( not 100%).  Whew – that would have been embarrassing!  I think it would have been worse because I am an instructor there as well, and a lot of the people taking this class are regulars of mine.  I told the instructor afterwards what I experienced.  She was HAPPY! She said that is how the whole class should have felt if they were doing the class correctly.  Score one for this girl.  I had been in my fat burning zone and was apparently burning lots of fat and then quickly

That was all I had energy for today.  The class was 1:20 and I thought I might run for 10-15 minutes, but quickly changed my mind during the last few minutes of class.  All in all, it was a great class!  

The big game was on today ( Michigan vs. Ohio State).  MI lost.  I don’t care for football on TV, so Amara and I left the guys at home.  Well, Miles took a nap while Matt watched the massacre.  Amara and I hit up the library first.  I found and checked out This is Why You’re Fat finally!  I might actually read the whole book and perhaps do a review. I checked out a few more books on sports nutrition and one on weight training and

Crazy Sookie!

of course the next book in the Sookie Stackhouse series.  I was not sure about this series.  It took me a while to get into it, but I am glad I stuck with it.  It’s no Twilight Series ( yes, I am 33 and those books are phenomenal), but I still enjoy it.  I need to rent True Blood one of these days.  We then headed to the grocery store for a few items and then off to Marshall’s.  I had a gift card that I needed to use.  Amara got a pair of cute Hello Kitty slippers. 

Tonight for dinner: Bear steaks.  I am intrigued and a bit scared.  I have had bear sausage before and it was really good.  I am not a fan of any type of steak, but I am up to give the poor bear a try.  If I don’t like it I will load up on the sweet potatoes and snap peas-now those I like!

 

Twilight Series vs. Sookie Stackhouse series which is better?

Have you ever pushed so hard during a workout that you threw up? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Power Spin ( barf bag please)!!!!!!!!!!

  1. Pingback: Endorphin Warrior Training Bracelet- Review and a Giveaway! « mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

  2. Pingback: Snow. Cold. Yoga. Hot. « mom.wife.fitness.LIFE

Leave a Reply

